We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Japanese dining”
Review of Nanzan Giro Giro

Nanzan Giro Giro
Ranked #159 of 2,392 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vail, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fine Japanese dining”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is my second time at this fantastic restaurant, it has been year and a half since my last visit but the quality of the food and service is still first rate. The chef uses the freshest local produce, meats and seafood and creates the most visually appealing and delicious dishes. The menu changes monthly and the food is served in courses, if you are expecting lots of food, this is not the place, if you want to experience Japanese kaiseki style dining this is it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VailSkierGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    18
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Wow !!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Just the way restaurant should be.
Service was perfect. Seven course menu, gastronomic style Japanese food.
We were lucky enough to pay $ 50 for this 7 course menu, and find a spot without a reservation.
I bet you a year from now, the same menu will be $ 150 and you will need to reserve 2 to 3 weeks in advance to find a spot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magicsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A must-go if you love Japanese food”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

For $50 I got to enjoy a ~7 course Japanese meal prepared in open glass Kitchen, delivered with great service, and presented as an art form. Of course, every dish tasted really great and well balanced, making this the best $50 I've spent in my entire Hawaii trip!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Duke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Real, authentic and modern Japanese dishes.”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

It is really authentic & modern Japanese kaiseki. Open kitchen. You can see the chef's arts in live. 7 cource $50! Don't miss the dessert (it's additional charge, $8) served with authentic match (tea ceremony style).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mamiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is the best meal we have in Honolulu. The food quality is great and the price is reasonable. Every dish is presented with thought and the waiters are friendly and chatty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vivian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nanzan Giro Giro also viewed

 

Been to Nanzan Giro Giro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing