We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for lunch”
Review of Mimasuya Italiano of Kyoto - CLOSED

Mimasuya Italiano of Kyoto
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Terrific set menu choices, very fresh ingredients, lighter Kyoto-style Italian food in practical portions. Great date or ladies' lunch spot. Excellent service

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GladThenMadCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Back away from the name all you want, the concept works!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Mimasuya Italiano of Kyoto. Nope, not making that up. Stare at it until your head explodes, back off of it all you want . . . but you can't make something like that up!

Apparently this restaurant is part of a wave of new restaurants in Hawaii that are upscale Italian, owned and operated by Japanese. Italian food with Japanese flair, they say. Well, here's the really amazing thing: it works! This was as cultured, delicious, attentive and satisfying a dinner as I have had in Hawaii in a long time. The restaurant was very empty, despite the very nice white tablecloth and covered seats decor, gleaming, spotless environment, etc. The air of prosperity was there, but not many customers. But the hostess, authentic Italian, was so genuine and happy to tell you all about the place, you just couldn't resist. My server was simply amazing - cultured and attentive and delighted to explain every dish in detail. Amazing pasta dishes, meats, salads, soups - I had a lobster linguine, and the last thing I expected for $28 was a whole Maine lobster chopped up in there! It was simply awesome. The wine list, though small, offers some real gems, and not at over-the-top prices.

Given the predominance of tourist traps (yuck) and local dives (yay!) on the Honolulu dining scene, there are not many independent restaurants serving classic cuisine that I care to repeat. Mimasuya Italiano of Kyoto is different. I'll be back for sure!

Domo arrigato, grazie, mahalo . . . . whatever! It works!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Holokauahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great for a business lunch!!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My coworkers and I stopped at Mimasuya for the first time on our lunch break. The food was awesome! I had the shrimp and asparagus pasta $14, salad and app included!! Great Lunch!! They were quick too, I had more than enough time to get back to work. Mike and Steffan were very helpful with their suggestions. The tiramisu and coffee for $5 was a nice too!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Abby1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I Wouldn't Eat Here Twice”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

New Italian joint just opened this week. Stopped here for lunch today. Decent location, but kinda tucked into an obscure corner...if you didn't already know it is there, you could easily miss it. Inside decor is fine...nothing too fancy or too plain. Limited daily lunch menu. I was one of six customers. Tables are barren of any condiments...no salt or pepper...and they're using paper napkins. I ordered the veal cutlet with shrimp pilaf, bowl of minestrone, and an imported Italian beer (Oro Di Milano Puro Malto). I was quickly served a small portion of warm heavy bread with a standard olive oil & balsamic vinegar dip. Beer came out ice-cold in a tall glass. The minestrone soup was a disappointment...basically, very small pieces of zucchini, potato, and cabbage cooked in a tomato-based broth. No pasta in it, no beans in it, no actual tomatoes in it, and zero herbs to lend any real flavor to it. Waiter offered to grind pepper on it, but there was no saving this bowl of soup. They really shouldn't call it minestrone. I wouldn't have it again. The side salad was pretty simple, just fresh greens with a couple grape tomatoes, sliced red onions, thinly-sliced cucumbers and red peppers, but the dressing they used was excellent. I love ginger-based dressings and they make a nice one. The veal cutlet was served on top of a very small spread of marinara sauce with two slices of lemon and some kind of marinated fish on top of the lemon. The cutlet was overcooked (dry) and lacked flavor...I mean, yes, I could've squeezed the lemon slices on it, but I don't care for breaded meat drenched in citrus juice...and that still would not have fixed the underlying absence of any distinctive taste. They either need to add some herbs and spices (salt and pepper would be a good start) to their breading, or create a sauce to serve over it that has a good flavor profile. The marinara was of no help, perhaps because there was so little of it. The shrimp pilaf was outstanding. If I could order just a big plate piled with shrimp pilaf on it as a meal, then that's what I would do. It really was quite great. Overall, I'm not sorry I gave them a try, but it's unlikely I'd go back. I wouldn't recommend it to friends and family.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank johnb6597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing