We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”
Review of Lobster King

Lobster King
Ranked #587 of 2,405 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
honolulu
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

On a Tuesday afternoon after work we were looking for a place to have an early dinner. We decided to try this restaurant. We actually live a few blocks from the restaurant and have driven by hundreds of times and see lots of people through the window but hve never dined here. There is lots of parking and the lot was pretty empty and we were happy abou that. The restaurant is pretty big and there were only 2 other tables occupied as we were seated at a window seat. The menu is very extensive. We both went with the special $12 lobster when you order a separate entree. I ordered the garlic butter lobster, seafood with choi sum entree and 2 abalone cooked in garlic and my friend ordered the lobster with black bean sauce and stirfried shrimp over cake noodle. The lobster was very good as well as both entrees, but what I really enjoyed was the abalone - which is one of my all time favorite dishes. The service was prompt and they kept refilling our water glasses. We were very pleased with our dinner and would be coming back for more. We are even thinking of having a family gathering there as the restaurant seems able to handle large parties. I'm sure my family would enjoy this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyhawaiian004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    25
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kauai, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Lobster it is”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

If you like lobster, this is the place to go. You can get a lobster for $12 if you order another entree. Go to the back of the room and check out all the lobsters there....oh man, there were lobster that weight at least 7 pounds. When you order the lobster, they will bring it to your table for you to take photos. Good Chinese food.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2bumdrifters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lobster Hands”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I love this place. The fried tofu with little shrimps is awesome. Twelve bucks for a lobster with any entrée, don't mess around get the salt & pepper style, winners.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Why are dogs allowed?”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

When I first went to Lobster King the food was very good. On my last visit, not so much. I think I could live with that, The first time I went was for dinner. On my last visit I went for lunch. In the light of day, I could actually see that the restaurant was not as clean as I like to see. The worse part was that some ladies next to me had their dogs with them. The dogs were definitely not service dogs, Why this is allowed baffles me. Must be they were steady customers. Still no excuse to allow this to me.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HKJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lobster is KING!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Celebrating Mother's Day at Lobster King was a pleasant surprise. At first glance, the place was non descript with many people standing outside. I recommend making reservations. Our wait was minimal. Driving into the parking was a challenge as a tour bus had just brought a crowd for dinner. But parking attendants assured an easy path to an open space. The black bean lobster was delicious. We also enjoyed the deep fried tofu, honey walnut shrimp, and peking duck w/bun. Our major disappointment was the minute chicken on cake noodle. Very bland. Compared to the other tasty dishes, just don't order it. $110 for a party of 8. Good deal. Try it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hulagirl96817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster King also viewed

 

Been to Lobster King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing