We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 totally AWESOME tours!!!!”

Epic Hawaii Educational Explorations
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: snorkeling, waterfall hiking. Our company brings the pride and spirit of Aloha to all of our tours, cultural history, and ecology lessons.
US
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“2 totally AWESOME tours!!!!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

its shame that I cannot write two separate reviews (as should technically be fitting) for both tours
We had 2 wonderful experiences with Elliott! First we went to snorkel at Shark's Cove, driving through North Shore and stopping to gawk at the sea turtles along the way as well as getting some darn good fresh Hawaiian fruit snacks and lunching on Garlic shrimp to DIE FOR!!!!
Then a week later we were off on a "desert hike" out on the Western shore at Kaena Point with some scrumptious Shaved ice enjoyed later on
Elliot is knowledgeable, funny, educated, nature-and-history minded bright young man; everything you would want to have in a guide. He runs small tours so you do not have to be encumbered with 40 people getting on and off the bus and that allows you to move faster and spend more time at your destinations - all definitely works to your advantage since we all pay our $$$ to see and experience things not to wait....
Both my wife and I have thoroughly enjoyed our experiences with Elliott and unquestionably recommend him to everyone.
It is a darn shame that his rating on here is so low - he DEFINITELY DESERVES MORE!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CWBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EpicHawaii, Owner at Epic Hawaii Educational Explorations, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Allan,
Dude, you totally rock. Your kids are lucky to have a dad half as cool as you. Ive seen many as a tour guide on the island and you are about as cool as they come. thanks for sharing your time with me on the island, it was a great pleasure to spend two days with you and your wife. Next time you come out, bring the kids along, and contact me early so we can cook up some epically good times again :) Thank again dude, aloha, Elliott :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    1
    0
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Eastside Tour: a great highlight of our holiday”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We picked this tour because we wanted to find out more about the history and archaeology of Hawaii and would happily recommend it. There were only two of us taking the tour on that day which meant Elliot could be more flexible in taking us around. He took us to sites with petroglyphs (rock carvings), turtle ponds and heiau (ancient temples), but also some lovely hidden waterfalls and streams. The videos on the Epic Hawaii website give a good idea of what you will see. We got to see some really interesting sites, but a real highlight was talking with Elliott. He knows a huge amount about ancient Hawaii, since he used to work at the Bishop Museum and has a masters degree in anthropology, and he could explain a lot in a very down to earth way. Elliott was great to chat with about all sorts of things, he didn't just give a tour guide spiel.

The tour took about four hours and did involve a fair bit of driving, but the driving was broken up with a lot of stops and included some great views. Also, Elliott was a good driver, so we didn't get any car sickness (which can be a problem for us). We didn't stop for lunch since we took a non-standard route so can't comment on the food.

Ancient Hawaii is really interesting so we were surprised there weren't more tours focussing on it. If you are interested in how people used to live or want a change from sun, surf and sea activities this is a great choice and excellent value as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Duckbattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Felt like a local”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Took a private tour around Oahu with Elliott and it was a real highlight of my time in Hawaii! The tour didn’t feel touristy at all (which was my big concern). Instead I felt like I was with an old friend exploring the island the way a local would. Made for a great experience and I highly recommend!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sweet27sweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic day on the North Shore”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Elliott is a great tour guide. Super friendly. Very good with my boys ages 12 and 14. We visited a historical site, snorkeled at Shark's Cove, ate shaved ice, saw the turtles at Lanikea Beach, and had some great coffee in Haleiwa. We spent a long time snorkeling at Shark's Cove, which the kids enjoyed the most. They snorkeled in very deep waters, and Elliott was there to make sure they had a great time. My husband must have told Elliott that he is a fan of bakeries because while we were waiting in line for shaved ice, Elliott decided to walk over to a Haleiwa bakery and pick up some chocolate chip cookies for us. Nice! And those cookies were delicious! We skipped a shrimp truck lunch because we had early dinner reservations at BLT Steak Restaurant at the Trump Waikiki. We had a great day with Elliott, and I'd recommend Epic Hawaii.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HyMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byram, New Jersey, United States
1 review
“North Shore Tour”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked a tour with Epic Hawaii for a north shore tour, we had expected it to be a big tour but it was just us three and our tour guide (elliott). It was absolutely wonderful, our guide told us about some history, brought us to some great spots for food and fresh fruit and it was just an overall wonderful experience. Elliott was really great and we had a lot of good talks with him throughout the course of the day. Snorkeling in sharks cove was wonderful and we had the privilege to swim with a sea turtle which was just unreal! Would absolutely recommend anyone who has the chance to take a tour with Epic Hawaii. Trust me it's worth it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moofy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing