We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seafood market”
Review of Tamashiro Market

Tamashiro Market
Ranked #414 of 2,370 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Restaurant details
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“seafood market”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was the only real place that I found fresh seafood. the supermarkets were expensive. it is hard to park and to find parking.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claudio_e2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you love Hawaii culture, you must try some fresh fish or poke from this place!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We've been here many times over many years. There are plenty of other places to get fish and poke, but we love the experience of shopping at Tamashiro Market. First, going there gets us out of the touristy places and into a genuine neighborhood of Honolulu. Second, we are usually the only non-locals in the place. Third, we love the tiny market which is jam-packed with local produce, a long poke counter with at least 30 kinds of poke, and and even longer fresh fish/seafood counter. We usually go once or twice per trip to get poke, fish and fruit/veg to cook in our vacation rental. Some of our favorite pokes: Hawaiian style crab, surf clam and several different ahi pokes. We also love the opah (moon fish). I hope this place stays just as it is for as long as I'm able to visit! To find it, head out on Beretania through downtown Honolulu, past Chinatown, merge onto King Street and look for the pink building with a big red crab on top.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BellevueRoberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruskin, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fresh fish but small parking.”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This place has very fresh fish but the parking is really small and is in a very busy street. Really good poke and lots of shellfish.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AyasFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not really a restaurant BUT......”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

They have THE BEST POKE IN HONOLULU !!!!!!

Best place to buy fish.

Parking lot is small but you can park in the church across the street. The signs in the church parking lot actually say....parking for Tamashiro's. use the crosswalk as you may get a jaywalking ticket from HPD.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DShiznit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great local fish market”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Not a restaurant, but a market, mostly for fish. Definitely worth a stop if you take your fish seriously. Lots of selection of excellent poke, and plenty of good fresh fish. We were staying in a rental house with full kitchen, so this market made a perfect stop. Grabbed some poke, seaweed salad, and some filet of Mahi Mahi to cook up ourselves. They also have a modest produce area to get some accompaniment to your meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamashiro Market also viewed

 

Been to Tamashiro Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing