We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local Restaurant, Great Poke” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ono Seafood

Ono Seafood
Ranked #2 of 2,326 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Local Restaurant, Great Poke”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We decided to try this place because it was not a tourist restaurant but close enough that you can walk it from Waikiki. Everything on the main tourist area is pricey and crowded, this place was a mile away from our hotel & we decided to walk there. The whole area near this restaurant appeared to have local restaurants that were good as well, I'll make mention later. So we tried 3 different ahi poke and all were great & worth going to.

The Restaurant: You can easily miss this place. It's really small with one small bench outside. They do not have a seating inside basically, you order on a counter then leave to eat your food elsewhere or on the bench outside. Very limited parking.

Overall, my husband & I ate here & sat outside to eat. Before we left, we ordered again to take to our hotel. We also kept coming back everyday until we left Oahu, hahaa.

Other restaurants are Ramen (Nakashima ???) & Leanard's Bakery.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlust1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    109
    28
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
orlando
Level Contributor
77 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Pokey on the Island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This little seafood (pokey, raw fish over rice) joint is the best on Oahu. It is basically a seafood company that has a take out counter up front. They do have one picnic table out side, which is pleasant. The pokey is so fresh and delicious be sure and order the larger size. I had a combo 1/2 ahi tuna and 1/2 tako (octopus). It was fresh, tender and wonderfully seasoned. It is a bargain as well, regular size pokey and a bottle of water or soda is only $7.50. So if you want to experience Hawaiian style for real, this is the place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yogababe04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley, Oregon
Level Contributor
131 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Poke as you like it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

It's easy to drive by Ono and miss it completely. It's set in a very small storefront with very small signage (opposite side of the street and a block further down from the small Ono plate lunch restaurant). But you'll find it - just follow the line at lunchtime! It is tiny, but the food is full of big flavors. Pick the fish, pick the preparation, and select a serving size. This is a place where locals love to go, and it comes highly recommended when you ask about the best poke in Honolulu. Just don't expect to find a place to sit, as the one picnic bench in front is usually packed. This is a terrific place to stock up on takeout and many of your more exotic fish-related new favorites.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank docyjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcal
Level Contributor
333 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“This is THE PLACE to go for Poke!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Don't blink or you could miss this place and drive right by.... It is located away from the street at the back of a parking lot. Not much to look at, very small and family run.
The ladies behind the counter are friendly, efficient and quick with a smile... Mostly serving fresh seafood , especially the fresh Poke!
I have been eating here for years.... usually I would order a container of Ahi poke with fresh limu (a crunchy seaweed) and eat it before heading over to Leonard's for my Hot Malasadas fix....
This year we tried the Poke Bowl.... a batch of freshly made poke over rice. Included with the poke was a soda.... all for $7!!
In a word...... OUTSTANDING!
We returned 6-7 times in the 8 days that we were in Waikiki....
We have this place on our permanent list of places to go while in Honolulu.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ono Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing