We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Buffets...”
Review of Five Star International Buffet - CLOSED

Five Star International Buffet
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Royal Hawaiian Ave.
Transit: The Bus Waikiki Express B exit at Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center.
Description: The Five Star International Buffet is a delectable tasting menu featuring gourmet cuisine from Hawaii and around the globe. House specialties, fresh seasonal dishes made with locally-raised seafood and produce, and savory desserts are carefully prepared by more than a dozen chefs in an open-dual kitchen. Our cuisine is complemented by a full bar and signature cocktails. Whether it’s for lunch, happy hour or dinner, we invite you to try a new way to buffet.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the Best Buffets...”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were really surprised by Five Star International Buffet, as normally buffets are a little overpriced and the food is very basic, bland and not that great, but the food here was extremely tasty, there was a huge variety and at first we thought the price was a little on the steep side, but once we started eating it was well worth it!!
The service was really good, we werent sure if we wanted to eat here because of the price, and the hostess let us walk through the buffet area to check out the food before we committed to a table, which we really appreciated! I would recommend Five Star to any one I know who is heading to Waikiki, and when I return to Waikiki I will definitely be coming back to Five Star!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AKHtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    15
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“All You Can Eat Buffet”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had lunch here which is a lower price than dinner, which is good since the buffet is not worth the high price but is okay at the lunch price. The selection is predominately Asian but they do make a terrific bread pudding for dessert. It was very busy and the server was very pleasant despite being so busy. The atmosphere is nice, very modern decor. Located on popular luxury row.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dwm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waipahu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A nice time to end the year with family...”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We enjoyed our family Christmas dinner! Was hesitant about driving into Waikiki over the holidays, but was truly worth it! We were lucky enough to be placed in the little room off to the side. Everyone enjoyed the variety of food - and because the food are made is smaller quantity, they are constantly replenishing the food -- so it's fresher! We were pleasantly surprise with the "Kamaaina Discount"!

The only 'confusing' part was the parking - because we aren't too familiar with the different hotels.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kawa808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Well worth it”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Great variety of food. The family really enjoyed the wide variety of food from sushi, to crab legs, stuffed lobster and while I am not much of a seafood eater there was a wide variety of "land" food as well, with chicken, pork, and prime rib. Mostly an Asian theme, with Italian and Hispanic flavors as well. Worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised.”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Everytime I see a name like Luxury accommodation or Five Star International Buffet I quiver and tend to wonder how good is it going to be. In this case we were pleasantly surprised. Before we decided to sit down we went into the buffet area to see an enormous array of asian food and noticed that the food was being cooked as soon as the plates were emptied and most importantly a limited amount of food was being put out, which I thought was good, because we knew the food hadn`t been there all night. There was a great selection of food from soup to garlic prawns, chicken, beef, stir fry, sushi in which my wife loved, to desserts and a lovely selection of fruit and cakes which is all we wanted. There are cheaper places around in Waikiki but if you don`t want to eat burgers and fries which seems to be the diet here, this restaurant is good value.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandy0970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Star International Buffet also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing