We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, service and value.”
Review of Lucky Belly

Lucky Belly
Ranked #17 of 2,357 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oregon
Level Contributor
173 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazing food, service and value.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Shirley my hostess suggested my virgin experience of the menu. Soft taco shrimp outstanding. Next time a ramen bowl and more appetizers. Added bonus was head shared free tasting of high end Napa Valley Cabernets and a few Merlots. Wow.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OregonJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    93
    24
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice atmosphere, great appetizers”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very nice little hipster restaurant in Chinatown, nice atmosphere. My wife and I split 3 appetizers that were all delicious and a ramen which was good but nothing special. I would definitely go back and try out different appetizers out of curiosity even though the ones we got were excellent and I'd try the belly, sausage Ramen (we got the plain one). It was also nice that it was reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
“Dissapointing...”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I should have sent back the displeasingly salty, but otherwise tasteless liquid, with thick, hard noodles and un-eatable few pieces of belly fat, called: lucky belly soup.
Given the time we spent of travelling to it, looking for the place and waiting a lot for a table, just wanted to get over with lunch. The only acceptable part of this so called soup were: the few pieces of Asian vegetables...
After following all the hype, any decent,Chinese eating place would have been much preferred to this one.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marig0ld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
2 reviews
“Best meal we had in Honolulu”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place. Decided to try it out after reading reviews on trip advisor. We were not disappointed. The place was packed when we got there but got a seat at the bar in no time. The staff was friendly and helpful and the food was amazing. We had 2 appetizers (the lobster shao mai is a must) and shared a soup bowl. We liked it so much that we left early and stopped in on our way to the airport.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“YOU HAVE TO GO TO THIS RESTAURANT”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We heard about this restaurant from the bar staff at our hotel. We took the bus ($2.50 for 2 hours) to Chinatown. it stopped just outside of the restaurant. Their specialty is the big bowl soups. We shared a couple of appetizers and 3 of our party had the big bowl soup and 1 the chicken sandwich. Food was fantastic and the service was absolutely fantstic. Take the time and go to this restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RayS123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Belly also viewed

 

Been to Lucky Belly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing