We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable experience.”

Maui Divers' Jewelry Design Center
Ranked #40 of 147 Shopping in Honolulu
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maui Divers Jewelry is the largest jewelry manufacturer in Hawaii. Since 1959, their jewelry has been inspired, designed and created in Hawaii with such care that it is Guaranteed Forever. This entire process can be experienced at the company’s world-famous Jewelry Design Center in Honolulu, free tours are offered 365 days a year with free shuttle service from anywhere in Waikiki. Maui Divers Jewelry is renowned for its unique, high-quality designs featuring pearls, precious corals, Hawaiian gold, diamonds and other beautiful gemstones. Maui Divers Jewelry is available at over 30 locations throughout the Hawaiian Islands, including 8 in the Waikiki district.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience.”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We visited Maui Divers on Kauai. I found a ring at a decent price and had fun choosing my oyster. In no way did I feel pressure to have my pearls set. Lenny was very clear about the handling and care if my jewelry.

Helpful?
3 Thank pinkjeaniebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    9
    14
    8
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tumon, Mariana Islands
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Free bus ride to Honolulu. Can walk to walmart”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

They were waiting for random customers when I came off the Atlantis Submarine tour. We went to the jewelry shop and watched a video. I won a jewelery case and drank some free alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages. We were obligated to take a short tour of how they made the jewelry and then walk through their store. Afterwards, we were free to go back or go out into Honolulu. I walked to walmart and then rode the bus to the botanical gardens and through china town and then back to Waikiki.
Jewelry was nice and of good quality, but I did not get any. The sales pressure wasn't too bad either.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rust, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Inspiring Information, yet a little but ...”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

the ride (it is free) was pleasant, the film about black corals etc. very interesting, the gold corals and other displays simply spectacular ...
now comes the little "but": we are not in the league to afford 800 or 900 dollars worth of jewelry, let alone more than one grand, and even 300 or 400 is "too stiff" for us.
so we did decide not to buy anything in the first showroom.
in the second we found some nice things, still outside reach.
when we bought two oysters to be opened the lady unfortunately immediately without asking us before put a whole into both and then treid to sell us stuff beyond our budget and questioned our budget even ... we eventually bought one setting for about 100 bucks altogether but left with a slightly sour ending to an otherwise unique experience.
i feel that this lady (anglo-german) might learn something from her "oriental" colleagues who do not put on a hard sell.
but: forwarned as you are now you should go there and enjoy the great information and the wonderful displays.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Wulfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The free excursion was part of our West Jet package organized by Diamond Head tours. they shuttled us to the Center, gave a brief but informative tour through the factory and the jewellery shop.
The jewellery is pricy but high quality and of genuine and original design. We bought some pretty pieces that we couldn't find anywhere else in HNL

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur_Hanshyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor Quality!”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We bought a pick a pearl with a ring mount on our trip to Waikiki last month. Today my pearl fell out and is gone! Worthless! Not only do they try to trick you into buying more jewelry but I barely got a month out of it before it broke. So disappointing! Never, ever again!

Helpful?
9 Thank Beverloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Divers' Jewelry Design Center also viewed

 

Been to Maui Divers' Jewelry Design Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing