We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Show changes over time”
Review of Society Of Seven - CLOSED

Society Of Seven
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Show changes over time”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have seen SOS SHOWS since 1981(at least20X) ,seeing last show 9/24/12.The sos has
variated w/original members who went onto LASVEGAS+keeping the SOS name alive with
replacement personel who have some of multi talents asthe original SOS.
the show is really good+I recommend it.
When entering the show you have the option for apicture to be taken w/someone acquantied
with the show,then you are shown to a table+AND a server brings some libabation.
There are at least 3 servers+you pay before the show is over.
The person who said no one took him/guest to a table+only 1server must have had an off night
as the staff is always organized.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank fpotocnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
715 reviews
235 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“throw back from the past, but still well worth the money”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

its probably beyond its prime, but if you like live entertainment, like las vegas, then you will like this. the music is great. the entertainers are very polished and professional. I loved the 70's.
I also like tribute bands, and they do a lot of that. I think they capture a time when life was just a whole lot simpler and better. Give it a try. You can spend a lot of money on a lot of things, but I think this is good value.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank rocketman000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Two Thumbs Up! A Must See!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We loved the show! The entertainers were very talented. The show made for a fun and memorable evening. Other reviewers have said that it is a good show for the mature audience or senior citizen crowd, but we are in our late 20s and we had a great time. We would definitely recommend seeing the show if you are in Hawaii.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank shopgirlnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Society of Seven Honolulu”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We went to this show on Saturday, Oct. 27th, 2012. To begin with, parking is blocks away so be prepared to park and WALK and remember to take your parking ticket to the show for validation. When we got to the show the check-in process was terribly slow (they only had one man working the counter) and it was very disorganized. People were unsure where to go or what to do. When we got into the main show room there was no one to direct you to a seat or give any directions so people wondered around and finally just took seats. The show room was very outdated and too warm. It felt kind of dirty and dingy. Finally a waiter appeared for our drink order. Another deception because we were told our ticket included one cocktail each. When my husband asked about that he was told he was mistaken..the ticket said "cocktail show" but no complimentary drink!? So once that was all figured out we could not even get the attention of the waiter (he was intentionally passing us over and over again) and my husband had to go outside for drinks. The waiter was rude, unfriendly and unattentative. WHY would you have one waiter with 50+ people to serve? THANKFULLY the show was really fun and the SOS are very talented, entertaining folks. Excellent music, funny impressions, good encouragement to get the audience involved. Sadly I'd probably never go back because of the disorganized check-in and the TERRIBLE service. I hope SOS will consider a new location; seems like that might be the best solution.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank bechfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“fun evening for the mature audience”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I saw the show in Wakiki and there is another SOS in Las Vegas that has the American Idol alum in the line up. The talent in Wakiki was great, playing multiple instruments, singing quite nicely and doing impressions in an old cabaret style show such as has been enjoyed since the 50s in similar venues. This is one of the last shows of its kind in the area and the longest running at more than 30 years with cast changes periodically, so it is worth a visit if one is in the area.

The impressions with quick costume changes were hilarious as was the Elvis impersonator "school" conducted with 3 audience members. I saw the show after a cast change, so the female musical director had replaced the previous female vocalist. The current lady is very talented with a wide vocal range and skills on keyboards and even playing drums in a ball gown at one point as the band members rotated through various roles while singing and dancing.

For military members there are discounted tickets for the show available at Pearl Harbor MWR office that help with the price. We didn't do dinner at this location as it seemed very overpriced for the quality of the on site restaurant when there are so many places in walking distance with better food at better prices. We parked in the garage by the hotel where they will validate by stamping your ticket after the show and thus reduce your parking fee. Given the parking limits in Wakiki on a Saturday night it is worth either taking a shuttle or walking or definitely finding the garage that validates if one must drive.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Peri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Society Of Seven also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing