We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to spend an evening...”

Kuhio Beach Torch Lighting & Hula Ceremony
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Held Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday (weather permitting) at 6pm November through January and 6:30pm February through October, this hour-long tradition includes a conch shell blowing, Hawaiian music and hula performances by Hawaii’s finest hula halau (troupes) at the Kuhio Beach Hula Mound near the Duke Kahanamoku Statue. The show varies each night, so it’s worth checking out every evening that’s convenient.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A great way to spend an evening...”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We checked this out one Tuesday night, we arrived about 15 minutes before and found a spot on the side... Most of the best spots were taken, but we could see just fine on the side... The shell blowing, music and dancing were awesome, and managed to keep our 3 and 5 year olds entertained the whole hour! A free event, it's a nice way to spend an evening...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank burna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    30
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel, Jerusalem
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Sunday is cancelled!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We didn't get to go during the weekdays and waited for the Sunday show. Came back, especially on time just to find out the Sunday show was cancelled a few months ago...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank amiroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our First Hula!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful setting and the place was packed. This will be one of my best memories of Waikiki. The music was good. A fun evening!

Helpful?
2 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
692 reviews
331 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Very good free entertainment”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I highly recommend this for anyone who wants a taste of hula without paying to see a show. I heard criticisms about the quality. Be aware that the dancers are not professionals but are members of a halau or hula dance studio. As I hula aficionado, I think they did a very good job. There was one dancer who is a professional who is excellent. The three musicians were very good. The setting is beautiful. Anyone who wants an introduction to Hawaiian music without investing a lot of money or time should see this.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank kupunakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great show, perfect sunset and to top it off it's free!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I had been recommended to see this show by friends and I wasn't disappointed. The youngest performers were only 6 years old, the weren't that as polished as the older performers but they were adorable!!! Enjoyable show. And the sunset was absolutely stunning. Definitely worth seeing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank jayde43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuhio Beach Torch Lighting & Hula Ceremony also viewed

 

Been to Kuhio Beach Torch Lighting & Hula Ceremony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing