We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland, bland, bland”
Review of Pearl's Korean BBQ

Pearl's Korean BBQ
Ranked #531 of 2,370 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: Korean
Restaurant details
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
145 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Bland, bland, bland”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My title says it all. Maybe they were just having a bad night but their kalbi was under seasoned and their meat jun was not tasty and somewhat doughy and under cooked.

In the past we've dined at Pearls on many occasions and had nothing but good things to say about both their food taste and healthy portions. They're not the same anymore. Just my 2 cents.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esakimoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
523 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Ample portions for little money”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Nice surprise...food was ok with hugh portions espeically for the price. Could have been a meal for 2. Not spicy like many Korean BBQ places

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
295 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Good Korean Food”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This restaurant is in Waikiki shopping Plaza in the basement.
We ordered two No 18 at $9.99 each and we ended up bringing one home in a styrene box.
The meat was excellent and you also get 2 scoops of rice and 4 vegetables.
You order from the counter and there are plenty of tables and chairs and it was nice and quiet to have a relax.
There are also clean rest rooms

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Korean BBQ”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This has excellent Korean BBQ -Kalbi. You can also select 4 vegetables that are always fresh. We stayed a month and I ate here almost everyday.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank PATSKB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainb0wtraveler
Level Contributor
167 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Get a combo and share a plate - pretty nice portions”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Taste wise, this is not authentic Korean food but it is a good filler for when California Pizza kitchen around the corner is full and you need a quick bite. We made a mistake in trying to go to CPK on a Friday night and had a one hour wait. Decided to look outside and saw Pearl's. You get a choice of 4 vegetables - the bean sprouts and potatoes were excellent, kim chee was NOT hot or spicy, and seaweed was okay.

I ordered the meat jun and BBQ chicken -- nice sized portions so two of us shared a plate. Comes with two scoops of white rice and they also offer brown rice.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rainb0wtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl's Korean BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Pearl's Korean BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing