We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time I have gone.”
Review of Shangri La

Shangri La
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$109.00*
and up
Half-day Bike Tour and Hike to Diamond Head
Ranked #12 of 324 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Doris Duke's home, built in 1930, is an architecturally significant home which includes a collection of Islamic artwork.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
186 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“3rd time I have gone.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Good value.
Great half day tour. Each docent tour guide made it so interesting. Amazing that she was about 22 years when she started building .
Would go again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jimgloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    584
    114
    22
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“islamic art in a Hawaiian setting”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Beautiful views of the ocean seen from a villa full of Islamic art. Not to be missed. You must book ahead and do so from the online site of the Honolulu Museum of Art.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sirhandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What an architectural gem!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We went to visit Doris Duke's Shangri La through the Honolulu museum of art arrangement. You can make reservation and buy tickets through the museum web site. The tour guide we had was very friendly, knowledgeable, and detailed. We learned a lot about the life and dedication of Ms. Duke. The site is so lovely. It is by the ocean in the Diamond Head area. The house is splendid Islamic style. We felt like we were invited for a visit by Ms. Duke herself. Thank you to all the volunteers and staff who keep up this place so well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlohaRaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value and a superb site. Diverse collection. Make sure you book early! Guides are very knowledgeable. I have never seen anything like it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank samijosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Visiting Shangri La has been a highlight of our trip to Oahu. The Honolulu Museum of Art (where the tour begins and ends) was easily accessible by public bus and the shuttle bus was comfortable and left very promptly. We went on the 9am tour which I would definitely recommend as it was already quite warm and would be stifling in the afternoon. The house and grounds are so beautiful and our tour guide was friendly and extremely knowledgeable. The Museum itself had an interesting selection of art and the cafe served a decent lunch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nadia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shangri La also viewed

 

Been to Shangri La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing