We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“what a pleasant visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri La

Shangri La
Book In Advance
$99.00*
and up
Diamond Head Bike to Hike
Ranked #12 of 311 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Doris Duke's home, built in 1930, is an architecturally significant home which includes a collection of Islamic artwork.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“what a pleasant visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

have heard about the Shangri-la for years but never visited until last month when parents were visiting from out of town. What a gem of a living museum. Try to take the 1st morning tour as it gets warm in the afternoon. Note that your admission includes entry into the Honolulu Museum of Arts the same day. Well worth it! Suggest U have lunch at the nice museum cafe before or after your tour. Enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pickietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    105
    20
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Who would have thought ... A really good excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I went going in thinking "what do I care about some house from a lady of yesterday-year", but boy was I wrong. I got roped into going and I'm man enough to admit this mistaken thinking. It was fascinating, intriguing, and beautiful. Definitely recommend this place. Yes, reservations are an absolute.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank San-Diego-Surf-n-Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“doris duke estate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I enjoyed the tour. It was pretty warm inside though..
only downside..
enjoyed seeing the inside of her home and all her beautiful
artwork. I felt her spirit inside for sure.. a lamp even flickered
so I know she was around us.. pretty cool!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thestacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Location Perfect; Enter a Simple Doorway to Another World!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

On arrival at Shangri La it is a simple gate, driveway and entrance. Once inside a new world opens up to Doris Duke's life from 1940's until she died in her 90's. The house looks out through a glass wall to the Pacific. A must see.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Inconvenient meeting point.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Where you meet is close to town. The museum doesn't open until 10. No one would tell us where the pick-up was. We walked all around looking in the heat. It would be helpful if they marked the pick-up site. ShangriLa itself is very dark and there is no breeze. The art work is magnificent, but the actual experience was not pleasurable to us.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ciraulo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shangri La also viewed

 

Been to Shangri La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing