We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri La

Shangri La
Book In Advance
$99.00*
and up
Diamond Head Bike to Hike
Ranked #12 of 311 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Doris Duke's home, built in 1930, is an architecturally significant home which includes a collection of Islamic artwork.
Canberra
Level Contributor
253 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This lovely house is in a wonderful setting. The decor is fantastic - much more ornate than my taste normally, but tasteful nevertheless. The whole experience was enjoyable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CanberraJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    105
    20
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of Oahu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I would recommend that everyone take the tour of Doris Duke's estate and Islamic art collection. First, the grounds of her estate are dream-like and idylic, and the house was state-of-the-art for its time. Second, her art collection is one of the finest to be found; most people will be suitably impressed by what they see there. People come from all over the world to study her collections. I highly recommend that all efforts be made by everyone to visit Doris' Shangri La estate.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank oracle306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Doris Duke Foundation Makes a Great Presentation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Only about 50 people are lucky enough to visit here daily. Reservations are made through the Honolulu Museum of Art (which is also a great place to visit, not only for its exhibits but also for Bertram Goodhue's architecture and grounds design). Shangri La's collection of Islamic/Arabic art is impressive. It includes religious works and everyday life pieces. It covers many places and different times. This is a terrific "off the beaten path" visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank denverjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A different perspective of Doris Duke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

A beautiful spot near Diamond Head. One must make reservations ahead of time and then meet at the Honolulu Museum of Art for a 15 minutes shuttle ride to Sangri La.
I like the fact that I gained a better appreciation of Doris Duke when I learned about the many anonymous donations she made during her lifetime. I like her hands on involvement in creating Shangri La. I dislike the lack of air conditioning inside Shangri La which made part of the tour quite uncomfortable. If you appreciate and enjoy islamic art and decor, you will enjoy Shangri La.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“favorite place ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

this is a must in hawaii a MUST! awesome spot, great stories, tour is wonderful, house is beautiful.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank aaronstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shangri La also viewed

 

Been to Shangri La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing