We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:45 AM - 4:00 PM
Tour of North Shore & Waimea Waterfall
3,599

Book in advance
from
$154.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve
from $154.00
More Info
from $19.00
More Info
from $41.99
More Info
from $133.99
More Info
Reviews (17,198)
Filter reviews
17,198 results
Traveler rating
10,772
4,026
1,647
466
287
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
10,772
4,026
1,647
466
287
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful bay great place to snorkel snorkel gear coral reef beautiful fish low tide entrance fee shallow water marine life snorkeling experience parking lot was full parking spot nice beach north shore video turtles snorkelers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,148 - 1,153 of 17,198 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2019

We were driving around the island for a day and was looking forward to visiting Hanauma Bay. However once we got there, we found we had to pay for parking which was ok at $1, but it was then $7.50 each person, and we simply wanted to park and walk around. So we had no option but to pay for parking and drive straight around and out again. Suggest doing your homework before visiting.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank GCPurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 30, 2019

Hanauma bay was magical. I do have some tips though. IF you are going to snorkel get there early like arrive by 7 am. First the fish are more active and secondly there are less people at that time in the water and you can enjoy the experience a lot more.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Jagii911
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 30, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful beach, lifeguards, clean restrooms. Variety of sea life visible as soon as your mask goes under the surface. Amazing colors, lovely snorkeling. Small coolers, beach chairs allowed. We packed lunch and frozen waters. Only $1/car to park, $7.50 admission, but all for free between 6AM-7AM. Only $1.25 to ride cart back up the hill from the beach to the parking lot. Friendly, helpful staff. This was our second visit, will go again, it’s that great!

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank roslyn701
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 30, 2019

I was really excited to snorkel in Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve. I was a bit disappointed as I didn't see many fish. The water wasn't very clear (we went on a Thursday morning) and the tide seemed low. It was so low that it was difficult not to hit the coral and you don't want to do that. I thought that I would see way more sea life than I did. You also should have special coral sunscreen. You can rent snorkeling equipment but I don't think that they rented life vests which I would definitely recommend. There is a parking fee and also a tram to take you up and down to the bay. The bay can get crowded and there isn't too much shade so get there early for a good spot. Maybe for first time snorkelers it's a good place but if you've been snorkeling in the Caribbean, you may not like it so much. The bay is beautiful however, and the water is warm.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 30, 2019

This is our second time come here. Too crowded now. But still beautiful and impressive. Kids had blast time when snorkeling with tens of hundreds of fish

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank SophiaXu2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews