We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Go early” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve

Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve
Book In Advance
$92.00*
and up
Oahu Grand Circle Island Tour
Ranked #6 of 315 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A perfect snorkeling spot.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go early”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

You need to go early for the parking lot will get full easily. Not crowded when we were there. bring food and drinks (non-alcoholic) to the beach. It's a little pricy and the selection is not great at the mini cafe. You pay $7.50 to get into the bay, and you have to watch a mandatory video. Take the All day unlimited tram ride to go up and down the bay. it's a longgggggg walk down and up. two bucks is well worth it. There is not enough live corals left, but you can still see the fishes. Kids loved it. I snorkeled for the first time and love. it. It's a must to see.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cali_cls2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,033 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,897
    2,650
    1,054
    292
    140
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pendleton, Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“First time Snorkelers should start here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was a fantastic experience. First thing though is that you need to go very early. The park opens at 6am. It is packed with people and there is a line. You have to pay 7.50 per person and it will cost 30.00 to rent your snorkel equipment. (that is per person) Also parking is 1.00 fee that is refundable if you leave within 15 minutes of getting there. The park is closed on Tuesdays to help clear the water.
They have bathroom facilities but there is no food at the bottom of the park. Only at top. No you can't bring food down with you. When you first go to the park you need to watch a movie on what you can and can not do. This is really important as at one time the park was closed because the public literally destroyed it. So they are very very strict on what can be done here. If you have never snorkeled you need to give yourself time to adjust. Most people can't just put the equipment on and go. Make sure you go in pairs. There are lifeguards but they can't watch everyone.
Once you get the hang of things have fun. There is fish down there alright and they are very happy to have pictures taken. We also saw sea turtles AND a moray eel.
They do have a tram if you need to get down and up the steep incline to the bay. Yes there is a charge to go both ways. You can rent a locker if you need to store your stuff again there is another charge. Just an FYI, if you do go and you need to rent everything, it will probably be approx 30 dollars per person.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mshellrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the best place I have snorkeled”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The drive to get there was beautiful. The tram ride was worth the price. It is steep. I imagine you would be too tired to walk back up the hill after snorkeling all day. We didn't see many fish though. I was snorkeling by myself so I felt a little nervous in the water.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pypeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“go early!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The view of the bay from the top is amazing, make sure to take it all in! The process to get down there and snorkel is lengthy, but I understand why. If you do not go early by 9am-10:30am the water is so cloudy you can't really see anything anymore. I was lucky enough to swim with a sea turtle and saw some pretty amazing fish. I was very irritated with the tourists who continued to stand on coral despite a video that they likely could not understand. There really needs to be a video shown in other languages or they need to begin fining people for killing the reef. By 12pm I was more than ready to leave. Definitely worth it, but if you get there too late it will be a disappointment if your plan was to snorkel.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valerie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We went to Bay around 10 AM. There was not much crowd. We snorkel first time and we all loved it. We were able to see many different fishes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jdtravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing