We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great snorkeling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve

Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve
Book In Advance
$92*
and up
Oahu Grand Circle Island Tour
Ranked #6 of 311 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A perfect snorkeling spot.
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great snorkeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great times. Be sure to talk to the volunteers before you start as there are several places to snorkel. We stayed in one spot and missed a lot.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sparks2254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,254
    2,398
    961
    273
    123
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fun Beach Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Snorkeling was good. Large fish were a plenty .. As the day goes on the water seems to get cloudy. Parking was cheap and not an issue. Nice place to get away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrianinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Over-rated, over-visited, over-explored”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I thought I'd have a day of the most spectacular snorkling ever at Hanauma Bay. Not. What a disappointment. You'll see better fish populations feeding bread to the fish at Kapiolani beach park in Waikiki. I saw almost NO fish snorkling for two hours straight at Hanauma Bay. Not worth the drive, the parking nightmare, or the wait. If you must go just to say you've been, make it a half day trip to the visitor's center, but don't spend your entire day at Hanauma Bay. Despite the very knowledgable and friendly volunteer staff at Hanauma Bay, there are way better beach locations all over the rest of Oahu.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank oracle306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
241 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The view of the bay from street level is outstanding. I'm sure everyone who has been here has that picture. The walk down to the bay is not difficult, but when it's time to come back up, make sure you take the shuttle. You will see a short film about preserving sea life, mainly the coral reef. This film is mandatory, and a very good thing for people to see who have never been to Hawaii, or the islands. Especially beneficial for first time snorkelers, and children. The water was very clear, and there were plenty of fish to see. We ate lunch at the little take out restaurant on top, a little pricey, but good. I'm so happy that we had an opportunity to visit Hanauma Bay.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maryann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth going once.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

It a bit of a drive from Honolulu and a long sttep walk down to the beach. There is a shuttle bus (for a fee) that will take you down the steep drive and back up again.

As regards the beach and the snorkelling, it wasn't too pleasant for us as there was an offshore breeze and visibilty in the ocean was poor. This is not a reflection on Hanauma Bay at all as several of our travelling party visited Hanauma Bay only a couple of days earlier and loved it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cptslobodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing