We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, Peaceful Bay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve

Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.00*
and up
Oahu Grand Circle Island Tour
Ranked #6 of 318 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A perfect snorkeling spot.
Fernandina Beach, FL
Level Contributor
265 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Peaceful Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Lovely beach, very calm waters, and a mongoose or two!

It's closed on Tuesdays so don't try to go then!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank married96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,394
    2,816
    1,118
    306
    146
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manitoba
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Snorkel Elsewhere!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

really too bad that this place is deteriorating - too many people touching the coral and fish, not really much to see. I have been snorkling here for 30 years and keep going back just to see it degrade more each year. head north west - great snorkeling!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank winterinwinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“good snorkling place, but crowded”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

lots of variety of fishes, good for snorkling, but come early to avoid the tourist crowd, otherwise, bumping into other snorklers can be a problem. Parking fee is $1.00 per car, and entrance fee is $7.5 per person. Personally, I prefer Shark's Cove in Oahu's North Shore

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank thu51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ah!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hanauma Bay is a beauty! Even if you don't like to swim in the ocean, there is so much oceanlife that you can just walk into the water and stand up, bend over and look into the water. You will be amazed at what you see!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nannielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Oh my god. Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

This was my favourite part of our trip. We tried to get in before but were too late. You really must get there before 9am as its so busy. The snorkelling was amazing and so is the beach. I'd definitely recommend to get up early one day and go.

Helpful?
Thank chloelewis1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing