We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hanauma Bay for snorkeling” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve

Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.00*
and up
Oahu Grand Circle Island Tour
Ranked #6 of 318 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A perfect snorkeling spot.
Pearl City, Hawaii
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hanauma Bay for snorkeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

One of the best places to snorkel on Oahu. It is a fish preserve, so the fish are plentiful, but everyone needs to watch a movie to learn about the Preserve, and out of state guests need to pay an entrance fee. You need to get there early in the day otherwise they deny entrance if the parking lot is filled. It is open from 6 am to 7 pm and closed on Tuesdays.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Larisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,394
    2,816
    1,118
    306
    146
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
374 reviews
309 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Excellent but crowded”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is the best snorkeling ever. It has changed since our last visit 16 years ago. The parking is better, there is a video that you have to watch which is kind of a bummer. It is crowded. It is easy to get sunburned. The walk up the hill is a bummer - so take $1.25 with you so you can pay if you are tired. Check their schedule and allow time in your day to enjoy it if you go.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LAtoEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fish swim right up to you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hanauma bay is amazing and beautiful. Don't step on the coral please! The fish need this to eat! Saw beautiful fish and sea turtles

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank wpgtrvlr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a Variety of Fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My granddaughter, son and girlfriend had never snorkeled, so we rented gear at Boss Frogs. I thought this bay would be a good place to take them for their first experience. It cost $7.50/person; you then watch a little movie that introduces you to the bay and the fish. They do have a trolley that can take you up and down the hill for $2, but it wasn't hard to walk. The bay is made up living coral reefs, and areas where there are sanded area. Once I showed them how to use their snorkels and fins, we all took off. It was incredible the variety and colors of fish. The fish come really close, so buy a couple of those waterproof disposable cameras or a waterproof 35 milimeter cameras. The water isn't deep, so if you do get tired of swimming around you can stand up in the sanded area. The beach is really nice for laying out. They have food/water at the top of the hill, but none at the bottom. Suggestion: Pack a lunch and take bottled water with you. They have picnic tables at the top that are shaded (that's where we ate). We had a great time, and my granddaughter said that snorkeling here was one of the best things about our trip to Hawaii.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BEH54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Snorkeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great snorkeling and was able to see some sea turtles. The weather was perfect and the sand was so soft.
We even saw a little kitten on the beach

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing