We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crystal Clear waters”

Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.00*
and up
Oahu Grand Circle Island Tour
Ranked #6 of 322 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A perfect snorkeling spot.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Crystal Clear waters”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Bring your snorkel and flippers and snorkel until your heart is content !
A must to go to , don't miss spending a day laying around and seeing somne lovely fish.
Highly recomend it !

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,677
    2,931
    1,151
    315
    152
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting...”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I've never been so close to the fish. Some of them are quite big and colorful, very close to shore. I agreed with the previous reviewer that it's quite hard to swim because the reef is shallow. A few times I tried to swim farther away the crowd but then my knee hit on the reef and bleed. Although I did not quite enjoy it a lot, it's still a good experience. If I have a chance to go back, I hope I'll do better.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kk8570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“cool place”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

we spent a whole day here you can catch a bus and get dropped off early morning and then they pick you up late afternoon. wonderful relaxing place to spend some quality time

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not the best snorkeling”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Unfortunately too many people go snorkeling here. I guess because it's easy to get to and it's a reef close to shore and therefore, easy to snorkel. They show you a video about not touching or standing on the reef but people still do and it kills the reef. This makes it not look as nice and there will be less fish there because they have nothing to eat. It's very unfortunate that this place is over used. I think they need to limit the people that go there even more to get the reef back. It has been a long time since I was there but someone else also told me the same thing about the reef looking dead.

Helpful?
Thank msu_gurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
111 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I visited Hanauma Bay and brought my own snorkel equipment. I agree with other reviews that it is crowded and pricey depending on how you get here. I know there are "tours" from town that charge an arm and a leg to take you here. We drove ourselves and had no problem finding parking, although at the end of the parking lot.

When you get here, don't expect to jump right in the water immediately. First, there is quite a walk from the parking lot to the entrance. Then you have to wait in line to pay to get in ($7 a person). Then you have an assigned time to view a video on how not to damage the coral reef. Then you get to take a long walk down a steep incline to the beach (there is a trolley that charges $1 each way). Then you have to walk around the beach and search for an open spot. Then you finally get to go in the water. Plan almost an hour before you finally get to swim from when you arrive.

The bay is quite beautiful with crystal blue water. The reef is very shallow, making it hard to swim especially because it is crowded. You will run into other snorkelers out there if you aren't careful. If you can swim out further and feel comfortable swimming, you can get away from the crowd and see some great fish and sea turtles.

I also did a boat ride/snorkel tour while on the island. It was around $100 a person, but you snorkeled away from the crowds and with just a small group of 20 people or less. You got three hours of snorkeling and lunch when you got back. This included all your snorkel gear. That was better snorkeling, but Hanauma is a great lower cost snorkel option on the island. I'm sure there are some other, less crowded beaches you can find if you have time or do your research.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirkdawg98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing