We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One of my faves” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve

Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve
Book In Advance
$92*
and up
Oahu Grand Circle Island Tour
Ranked #6 of 311 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A perfect snorkeling spot.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of my faves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Great place to snorkel! I highly recommend. Beautiful scenery & crystal blue waters. I recommend buying your own snorkel gear

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank missv801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,397
    2,462
    992
    278
    132
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved Hanauma Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We did a Hanauma Bay Dive Tour in March 2012 and loved it. The bay is beautiful and there are so many beautiful species of fish and even a few turtles! It was busy, but so worth it!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah_smurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique and unforgetable experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

You've got to watch a short video about the bay then you can walk or take trolley down to beach, all well worth it! It's unreal snorkeling with all kinds of colorful fish and saw 2 sea turtles swimming in their own environment, Amazing! You can rent equipment (snorkels, goggles, life jackets, flippers, underwater cameras, etc.) I'd recommend trying an underwater camera either your own or buying one there, we did not but wish i would have. They say get there real early to beat the crowds and avoid all the sand getting stirred up but we got there later afternoon and it wasn't bad. My 6 yr old had a life jacket, snorkel, flippers, and goggles and just floated around with me, he loved it. I held one of his hands so we'd stay together while floating and so I could point out fish to him. Amazing time with my son and family.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hanauma Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Beautiful - a must see for visitors. Great snorkeling!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spend some time with the fishes~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We spent a good half of our 3rd day in Oahu at Hanauma Bay, the entrance fee is $7.5 for non residents and you will have to watch a 20 minute documentary/video on the preserve (if you sign up at the end of the video you will NOT have to watch it again if you return within a year).

After you descend to the beach you will be able to rent snorkeling gear and (a limited amount) of lockers. We found out later that you can actually purchase the snorkeling gear in Honolulu for the same amount of the rental fee, you call...).

Up to then we did some splurging on tours/rides and expensive dinners and only after Hanauma we realized we were doing it "wrong", enjoy Hawaii like the Hawaiians, for the price of admission and gear rental we had the most fun filled 1/2 day in Hawaii.

Consider getting a waterproof digital camera (we got one specifically for this trip), you will run out of film quickly if you get a single use one.

Go there early (before 10 AM, closer to 8:30 AM).

Pack a lot of sunscreen (the Hawaiian sun is pretty hardcore).

You might want to take it easy the next day, you will be sore after swimming all day long.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keep_Wethering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing