We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Excellent hotel! I needed a place to stay in Waikiki for a couple of nights, and I’m glad I chose Shoreline. At this price point in Waikiki, one would expect a standard room with standard service. However, Shoreline far exceeded my expectations. The vintage modern design of the lobby was warm and welcoming. It gave off a hip/cool vibe that sets itself apart from the other (mostly outdated) hotels in the area. The guest room was just the right size, and had all the amenities I needed. Above everything, though, was the staff’s extraordinary level of customer service. They knocked it out of the park. Everyone seemed genuine, and went out their way to make sure that I had a pleasant stay. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    615
    169
    48
    16
See reviews for
224
883
181
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kula, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My wife and I visited Oahu from a neighboring island for a mini-vacation. The Shoreline turned out to be the perfect choice for us! Its location in Waikiki ensured that it was within walking distances of beaches, shopping and restaurants. However, since its off the main strip, it is a lot quieter and cheaper too - a win-win! The standout of this hotel though, was the incredibly professional and helpful staff. They recommended some great restaurants and places to check out, that definitely made our vacation more memorable. We'll be sure to stay here again when we return to Oahu.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick8o8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Everything about this hotel is excellent. Location, staff, service, rooms and amenities. I have stayed at many hotels in Honolulu for business and leisure and so far this hotel exceeds all expectations. The pool on the rooftop is perfect, its like your own personal pool for relaxation, away from the crowd. I definitely will be staying at this hotel again and again.

Room Tip: If you get a corner room, the rooms are larget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My girlfriends decided to plan a vacation after my divorce to celebrate. I was hesitant at first but they were able to convince me to go.

Since we were on a budget, they found a great deal at the Shoreline Hotel. I've been to Waikiki many times before and never heard of it. I assumed it was cheap and the service would be horrible but I can say that I was wrong!!


The staff was very accommodating to every request that was placed, considering 9 females were on the trip. My friends can be a bit demanding, however, the staff was able to answer our every request with professionalism and a smile!

The location of the hotel was convenient as the beach was easily accessed since we planned to utilize our time tanning and relaxing.

You can't match the room rates with the amount of satisfaction we received on our trip! Thank you, Shoreline Hotel for the best divorce experience ever!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annlancromb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

staff was very helpful, friendly and generous. didnt treat us like customers. gave off a very warm vibe and were there to assist in any way we requested. They were not pushy like a lot of places can be in touristy areas. The hotel itself is very clean and beautiful. I have stayed at a few other places in waikiki and this one by far takes the cake. Definitely recommend giving this place a shot!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harman s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Aloha from Hawaii harman s!

I personally would like to thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here at the Shoreline Hotel Waikiki. While the hotel does sit in the middle of Waikiki I am ecstatic to see that our Front Desk Hosts were able to provide you and yours personalized service despite the constant hustle and bustle of our area. While our hotel runs at a high occupancy a majority of the time our housekeeping and maintenance staff works very hard to ensure that our property is well kept and maintained thank you so very much for noticing. We here at the Shoreline hope to see you and yours during your next Hawaiian vacation.

Mahalo,

Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Location and a quickie analysis of TA reviews led us to the Shoreline. It is located two blocks back from the Royal Hawaiian- centrally located for the beach, restaurants and shopping. And it was rated #10 in Honolulu at price around $200 for a 'partial ocean view king'. TA rated hotels #1-9 ahead of it ranged in price from $250 to nearly $1000. We felt it was worth a try for 3 days, and we did have a good stay, thank you.

The house has a number of features beyond location providing, at least for Waikiki, a reasonable value: medium sized room and bath, complementary internet ( thank you), daily newspaper (in the lobby) and a large flat screen TV with many channels. Everything was very clean and well maintained. Our 13th floor room had a 'partial ocean view' overlooking the Royal Hawaiian and had a huge deck ( a table would have been nice along with the two provided chairs.) The linens, towels and amenities were about normal for this level of house. It had a small refrigerator- would have been nice to have a microwave and coffee service ( complementary coffee in the lobby). The bed was comfortable and the room was pleasantly, if sparsely decorated and furnished.

This tendency toward a stark look and feel, minimalist if you will, defines this house. We rated the service as average, although it was actually very good- there just was not much of it. The folks at the front desk and the housekeeping staff is about it- and they did well. Ice is only on the first floor of a 14 story building; coffee and newspapers are complementary but you have to come to the lobby. The exterior and interior colors are so muted as to be nearly monochromatic with just some occasional bright pieces of art. The tiny roof top pool and deck can be a nice escape from the Waikiki circus, but they are just barely big enough to actually exist.

You can do better than the Shoreline for a lot more money and you can surely do far worse, but we can recommend this hotel with some small reservations.

Room Tip: Only the top three floor have any view other than the next highrise in the canyons of Honolulu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnacoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Ideally placed for exploring Honolulu and close to the beach. Desk staff were helpful with restaurants, this was undone by one of the day managers who was unhelpful when we had a problem. Rooms are ok, balcony looked out onto the next door building so we didn't use it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidsyd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Aloha davidsyd1,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us as you explored Honolulu. I am happy that you found the staff helpful during your stay and while your comment regarding one of the managers is rather vague we do use this website and its reviews positive or negative to help our team improve. Mahalo and we hope to see you again!

Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,009 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
472 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreline Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Hotel Waikiki

Property: Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Address: 342 Seaside Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2527 (Formerly Seaside Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shoreline Hotel Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a destination that’s famous for being popular, the Shoreline is comfortable in its own skin. The hotel — 135 rooms over 14 floors — has a scale absent from most Waikiki Resorts, and the 1970s design creates a contemporary feel. Accommodations are bright and well‑appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shoreline Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing