We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - let down by the location of the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - let down by the location of the room”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Unfortunately, we had a room on the lowest level and heard people using the ice machine at all hours of the night. The bright lights from the "Ross DFL" sign shone in our window and as they weren't blackout curtains, it made it difficult to really get to sleep. We also had issues with our phone being unable to collect messages - twice (and both times it was reception who left the message even though they knew we couldn't collect them). The room was nicely laid out and decorated. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel is well located - sadly it was let down by the room we were put in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Director of Rooms at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha Rachel K!

Please accept my sincere apology for our shortfalls. I can imagine that it must have been quite frustrating to have the lights shining through the curtain and not being able to retrieve your voicemail messages. I will have our team thoroughly check the voicemail system to make sure this issue is eliminated. Furthermore, we are looking into options to help with the lights shining in at night. Stay tuned....

In the meantime, I certainly appreciate your feedback so that I can address these concerns. As much as we try to make sure that everything is perfect, there are simply going to be bumps along the way. It is comforting to know that there are loyal guests such as yourself out there that want to help us be our best. Thanks again for your time and feedback and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Hawaii.

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    603
    162
    48
    16
See reviews for
216
866
175
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed 28/9/13 for 2 nights

I can thoroughly recommend the Shoreline Hotel. It is very close to all the eateries and shops (including the soon-to-be closed International Markets) along Kalakaua Avenue, as well as Waikiki Beach. The staff are very professional and do their best to make your stay enjoyable. We had 3 rooms booked. We received two room upgrades, which was lovely. When we arrived at 12 noon, they got one room ready so that we could store our luggage in it; we really appreciated that. The rooms were a good size and very clean. We were pleased to find a pool on the top floor, as we had not expected a pool from our research on the hotel facilities. There is free wi-fi in the foyer as well as a computer station. The lemon flavoured ice water in the foyer is very refreshing and the tea and coffee in the foyer is welcoming.
We went to the Cha Cha Cha Bar in the afternoons for their Happy Hour cocktails and beers. $3 each!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narelle50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Director of Rooms at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha Narelle50!

We are absolutely flattered by your 5-star review! Thanks for staying with us and thank you so much for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor. We are also sad to see the International Marketplace close down at the end of the year. It had become such an icon in Waikiki and will be missed. At least there are endless lists of things to do and see on Oahu. I'm not sure it is even possible to ever see everything. You will just have to keep coming back. You know you always have a place to stay when you visit Honolulu. Come back soon!

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I recently stayed at the Shoreline Hotel for my first visit to Oahu. I was very pleased with the location. It was central to everything. The hotel is located on Seaside and is in between Kalakaua and Kuhio (main streets with lots of shopping). Walking up towards Kalakaua takes you right in front of the grounds in front of the Royal Hawaiian.There are lots of places to eat and it is easy to get to public transit from there. I found Tyson and Kristy to be very helpful with printing out maps for me (for when I rented a car) and for setting up shuttles and helping me figure out the bus schedule. The room was clean and all the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Director of Rooms at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha Julie N!

You are so nice for mentioning how nice Tyson and Kristy are. Our Front Desk Hosts are some of the most genuinely helpful people that I have ever met. We are all very happy that you had such an amazing visit. We hope to see you again sometime soon!

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent 9 nights there. I wish we had booked for more! The hotel itself may not be of the standard of the exotic and famous ones in the area but this is good because there is no confusion, no noise and the atmosphere is very relaxing.
The staff at the reception were polite and helpful to the extreme. They really made us feel at home.
Staff aside, the greatest asset of the Shoreline is its position. Right in the middle of Waikiki, walking distance from everything including public transports which are - to use a typical australian expression - " a bloody beauty".
The room was comfortable, clean and with a nice view from the 12th floor.
If anything the wardrobe was a bit small but when you are happy...................who cares!
During our stay we had a small hiccup with the safe. The battery was low and it would not open. We notified reception and within the hour the problem was fixed. Again great service from the personnel.
Before I conclude I wish to thank on behalf of myself and my wife the reception guy that goes by the name of Rommel (I hope I have the right spelling) for his courtesy, politeness and positive attitude. Rommel,you are an asset for your organisation!
Finally, using the words of a famous general: " I SHALL RETURN"!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Riccardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Director of Rooms at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha Riccardo C!

I enjoyed reading your review. Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments. After 9 nights with us, you can consider yourself part of our ohana (Hawaiian family). We are honored to be considered a "bloody beauty" and you truly made Rommel's day when he read your very kind words. We are looking forward to your return!

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We couldn't be happier about our stay at the Shoreline. It exceeded our expectations in absolutely every way! The people were fantastic and the location was excellent, just far enough from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. The beds were wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LarryMcGough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Director of Rooms at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha LarryMcGough!

Our entire team had to do a little happy dance when we read your review! We are so happy to hear how much you loved staying at the Shoreline and absolutely thrilled that we exceeded your expectations in so many ways. Come back again soon!

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent nearly two weeks there and it was wonderful. The hotel has a fabulous location. We did our trips with the local bus, the bus station is only 2 min. away. The hotel provides a list of routes to various attractions round Oáhu. The stuff helped us out nearly every day - they are really very friendly and helpfull!! The room was very clean and comfortable.
We definitely will return here on our next trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 422Daniela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Director of Rooms at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha 422Daniela!

Thank you for the very kind words! I am so happy that you had such an amazing experience at the Shoreline. We can't wait for your next visit!

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent two weeks at the end of August at the Shoreline and it was very good. This was our second time in Waikiki and this location was just fantastic. Very clean room and lovely staff (Tyson and Joy are both stars, they helped us out almost every day). The bed was very comfortable and we had a nice outlook (9th floor). We were worried about the room size after reading other posts but it was ok (not big but adequate) and the welcoming nature of the staff made up for the room size. The only small matter that would have made our trip better was the availability of an electric jug in our room (we prefer tea to coffee). The pool area is very pleasant and the foyer a great place to relax between excursions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Donna255108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Director of Rooms at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha Donna255108!

Thanks for visiting us all the way from New Zealand! I am so happy to hear that our team was so very helpful. You have made a great recommendation about the electric jug. I will look into having something like that available upon request in the future. Come see us again sometime!

Mahalo!
Brian Aker
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
428 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,964 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreline Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Hotel Waikiki

Property: Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Address: 342 Seaside Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2527 (Formerly Seaside Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shoreline Hotel Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a destination that’s famous for being popular, the Shoreline is comfortable in its own skin. The hotel — 135 rooms over 14 floors — has a scale absent from most Waikiki Resorts, and the 1970s design creates a contemporary feel. Accommodations are bright and well‑appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shoreline Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing