We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“? stars, but 5 stars service and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“? stars, but 5 stars service and hospitality”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife visited Honolulu 4 times in the last 10 months, and have stayed in different hotel liked the Hyatt, Outrigger and Seaview Waikiki, (now the Shoreline Waikiki hotel). On our recent trip she convinced me to stay here because she was very happy when she stayed here with her brother just before Christmas. She was absolutely right and our 10 days stay was a very happy and memorable one. The staffs were very knowledgable of the events around town and tremendous in offering advices and directions, and not to forget mentioning their happy SMILES. . Special commendations goes to Vikky, Alex and the filipino girl on the front desk.( Sorry forgot her name). The room service was excellent and front desk is always ready to check to see if we need anything and to send up clean towels if we need any. All in all, I wished anyone looking for good location and excellent hotel at a very reasonable price, to stay at the Shoreline Waikiki hotel. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: Couple of rooms away from the elevator and higher floor will be nicer and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alaysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Aloha alaysi!

I just wanted to send a quick note to thank you for posting such a wonderful review of the Shoreline Hotel Waikiki! Being a Joie de Vivre Hotel, we are all about celebrating Joy of Life. I think this means something different for everyone, but after reading your review it sounds like we succeeded in making life a little more enjoyable for you and your family. We are all looking forward to your next visit!

Mahalo!

Brian Aker
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    615
    169
    48
    16
See reviews for
224
883
181
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights and it was good for the price you pay. I guess it's about a 5 minute walk to the beach, there are restaurants, coffee and shops all very close and it's very centrally located in Waikiki. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the decor is nice, and I liked having a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room. There's no pool or fitness center but they have $10 passes to 24 hour fitness which is about a half mile away. The staff is very friendly and welcoming but there's no concierge or bellman since it's such a small hotel. I paid extra for the partial ocean view room and as you can see from the picture, it was just ok. I almost wish I had gone with the cheaper room without a view. I usually woke up at 6:30 or 7 everyday when the sun came up, but I noticed a lot of noise in the hallway from 7 to 9 or so; doors slamming, keys jangling, walkie talkies, so if you wanted to sleep in at all, it would've been impossible. Housekeeping did an ok job, but tended to leave at least one thing unchecked each day (not a big deal, but I wasn't going to call the front desk everyday; just not much attention to detail).
I would stay here again - the location is good, the staff is friendly, rooms are nice, it's just very basic. Also, the Mexican restaurant in the lobby is very good (and budget friendly).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Aloha OatmealCeiling!

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. The Shoreline Hotel Waikiki is definitely located in a very fun neighborhood just steps from the beach, restaurants, and shopping! The Shoreline is also part of the Joie de Vivre Collection which is all about "Joy of Life". I am delighted to hear that our Front Desk Hosts took good care of you while you stayed with us. On your next visit, please feel free to also utilize our Front Desk Hosts as a Concierge as they have some amazing recommendations that only a local would know. Our bellman is also available 24-hours - I apologize that you were not able to utilize their services while you were here. I also would like to apologize for the noise in the hallway in the mornings. I will remind the team to try to keep it down. Come back and see us again sometime!

Mahalo!

Brian Aker
Director of Rooms
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Fantastic, stayed here 5 nights in total, large rooms with fridge and nice bathroom, just a short stroll away from everything. Fantastic mexian restaurant next door, free tea and coffee. Very helpful and friendly staff. Would stay here again, great value for money and less crowed and noisy than the large waterfront hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulaO123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Aloha PaulaO123!

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I am delighted that you had such a fantastic time at the Shoreline Hotel Waikiki. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Mahalo!

Brian Aker
Director of Rooms
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phx, az
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its great location (for the price)! This was our first time in Waikiki but I wouldn't have picked any other location to stay in Waikiki. Easy beach access, close to all shopping and dining. Everything within walking distance.

The room was clean and everything was pretty new. It was decent for our stay, however it was pretty much the smallest hotel room I have ever seen/stayed in. It worked for us because we just used the room for sleeping. If you are a person who enjoys hanging out at the hotel you are staying at, this probably wouldn't be a good choice. Refrigerator and microwave in room. Staff is friendly and helpful. Walk to bus line, if needed.

Make sure to make time during your trip to visit the North shore! Don't spend all your time in Waikiki.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fitfanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Aloha fitfanh!

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We were formerly the Seaside Hotel and now after our extensive renovation has completed we have launched our new name, Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel. You are certainly right about the location - it doesn't get much better! Just steps from the beach, shopping and restaurants. Also, any of our Front Desk Hosts would be happy to assist with planning a trip up to the North Shore. It truly is a must see when on Oahu! If you are looking for a slightly larger room, check out our Partial Ocean View rooms and our Junior Suites that give you a bit more space to stretch out. Come back and see us again sometime!

Mahalo!

Brian Aker
Director of Rooms
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013

For my 39th birthday I ventured off to waikiki for 8 days of fun in the sun! After 22 hours of commuting I arrived at seaside only to find the hotel under renovation!! Wasn't happy considering my 10 day trip in oct 2012 was at the park shore and they too were under renovation at the time.

Seaside staff were impeccable...the rooms were clean, relatively quiet despite the construction! The pool was closed but despite not being a huge ocean swimmer I ventured outside my comfort zone and loved every moment.

The staff are helpful, prompt and the in hotel restaurant has amazing food!

I wish seaside had studio kitchenettes for rent....I would love a long term stay unit!

I wasn't disappointed and Loved the personal attention I received from the desk staff!

Mahalo....

Room Tip: I faced the ocean.....not a great view on the lower floors....dumpy apt building!! Ask for higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelh74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Aloha Angelh74!

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are delighted that you had such a great birthday. Our renovation is now complete and we have launched our new name, Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel. If you are looking for a kitchenette, you could try our sister property, the Coconut Waikiki Hotel, just a couple blocks away. Thanks for staying with us and I hope to see you again soon!

Mahalo!

Brian Aker
Director of Rooms
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna B.c
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

this hotel is in a great location, close to beach, shopping, dining, e.t.c. our room was clean comfortable,had a fridge,and mircrowave.small balcony to hang out on.the staff were all very nice, and helpfull.i think this hotel is a bargain compared to others in the same area.thanks for a great week shoreline!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ride0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Aloha ride0n!

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! The Shoreline Hotel Waikiki certainly is located in an amazing spot - very close to the beach, shopping, and restaurants. We are very pleased that you had such a great time. Come back and see us again!

Mahalo!

Brian Aker
Director of Rooms
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hotel is now Shoreline Hotel - just changed the name not too long ago.

The location is super- everything is within walking distance. We got the renovated room but the renovation is just half-done. They probably changed some decor and (maybe) the carpet in the room but the old tiles and part of the old sinks/tub remains, a bit weird imo. We have stayed in quit a few boutique hotel and I cant really call this a boutique hotel. A bit disappointed with the room. It certainly looked nicer in pictures.

We didnt get a very high up room so it was pretty noisy as it's at the heart of waikiki. Didnt bother us but could be a problem for light sleepers. If you like to party and don't mind too much for the room, this would be a good choice.

P.S: there is no swimming pool due to the renovation

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Aloha Claire W!

Thank you so much for your feedback. You are correct! Now that our renovation is complete, we did launch our new name - Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel.

I apologize about the noise from the street. Hotels in any urban environment can certainly be a bit noisy at times. Next time you travel to Waikiki, let me know and I will make sure you get a room on a higher floor!

Mahalo!

Brian Aker
Director of Rooms
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,009 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
472 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreline Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Hotel Waikiki

Property: Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Address: 342 Seaside Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2527 (Formerly Seaside Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shoreline Hotel Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a destination that’s famous for being popular, the Shoreline is comfortable in its own skin. The hotel — 135 rooms over 14 floors — has a scale absent from most Waikiki Resorts, and the 1970s design creates a contemporary feel. Accommodations are bright and well‑appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shoreline Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing