We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing”
Review of Lyon Arboretum

Lyon Arboretum
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Go Oahu Card
Ranked #47 of 322 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the University of Hawaii, the Lyon Arboretum offers 194 acres and a research facility.
Richfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Nobody was in attendance. Labels on vegetation worn off. Pretty but very disappointing. Was free.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    99
    14
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice got to see it.”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you like green this the place to go. Great volunteers there and staff.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keoki96744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely grounds, okay hike”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our family (two adults, 13, 9 & 6 year olds) first went on the basic hike next door at Manoa Falls. With time left in the day we walked up the hill to check out Lyon. Easy hike with beautiful plant and flower specimens (it is, after all an arboretum). Less traffic than Manoa and manicured rather than wild. I wouldn't make the trip soley for this stop, but for fit tourists it was a nice add on to Manoa falls. You will be tired after doing both.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ny2vafam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Be prepared to hike, but worth the visit. Our tour guide, Mike, was terrific. We learned about the plants and the history of the island through its plants. If you like plants and nature, you should visit. I would recommend insect repellent or long sleeve shirt and pants. Some parts of the park has mosquitoes.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 28grits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“go green”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Quite appropriate place for studies specially for the students in higher education.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank sugathrandholee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyon Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Lyon Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing