We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hike”
Review of Lyon Arboretum

Lyon Arboretum
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Go Oahu Card
Ranked #49 of 324 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the University of Hawaii, the Lyon Arboretum offers 194 acres and a research facility.
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Hike”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This hike felt like we were in a jungle forgot my bug spray so I had a few bites to deal with it was very natural untouched wilderness they do give you a map to guide you to the waterfall and back it was a good experience.My husband really wanted to do this and has great pictures off the place glad we went.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nina499283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    101
    14
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, SD
Level Contributor
127 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Waterfalls across the valley, excellent guided tour via Oahu Nature Tours.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RubynRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Love the Lyon!”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

So beautiful, so peaceful. This time we went on one of the tours with a super informative guide. We will definitely go back.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JaviesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Lush forests await you, minutes from Waikiki”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I visited the Arboretum with my parents. When you are driving into the area, make sure you dont stop at the first lot where they are trying to charge for parking. This is for this wanting to walk in and see the lower waterfall only. Proceed up the road to the top parking lot and sign in at the visitor center. Admission is by donation and parking is free. Close to the visitor center is plants used traditionally by the Hawaiians. They are arranged quite neatly for your inspection. Continue hiking up the trail into the forest. The plants become densely packed and there are all sorts of palms, birds of paradise, and other flowers to see. Continue hiking to the end where the path narrows to see the waterfall. The hike took about an hour. Be sure to wear closed footwear as the ground is uneven. The trail can be slippery - it ended up pouring rain on us mid hike.

Helpful?
7 Thank JamesPharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
199 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“a hidden gem @ the end of the Manoa Valley”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

whether you're into hardcore rainforest hiking or just strolling around looking at tropical plants, there's something for everyone here! It's not too hard to find, just keep driving to the end of the valley. The waterfalls at the end of one of the hikes are beautiful!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank seahawksteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyon Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Lyon Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing