We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Large, Lots of walking.”

Ala Moana Beach Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$82.72*
and up
Oahu Surf Lessons: Class and Equipment at Ala Moana Beach with Round-Trip...
Ranked #30 of 324 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This gentle, protected beach has coarse sand and is ideal for swimming and water play.
Midwest USA
Level Contributor
166 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Very Large, Lots of walking.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were here for the lantern floating ceremony. It was so full of people and so hot. It was a wonderful experience, but we got way too much of the sun that day. We felt very lucky to have witnessed such an event.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank eyelive2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    724
    604
    184
    29
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
freshpho
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This is a truly kid friendly beach area”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Ala Moana is a lagoon like area which is absolutely kid friendly. The water was shallow and very calm. I felt at ease with the children playing in the water. I felt relaxed and not feel paranoid about the kids. Parking is free and plentiful. One aspect on Honolulu beaches I didn't care for were all the bums.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank freshpho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamakura, Japan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Passing through”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Instead of getting on one of the ubiquitous trolleys to Ala Moana Shopping Center, consider walking there. It's only about 30 minutes from the centre of Waikiki. Along the way, you can stroll through this long and narrow park, making the trek nicer than just sticking to the sidewalk.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Man0ntheM0ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Walked through several times”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Really great place for a stroll, nice place for a snorkel but ran out of time, also great for kids - has a life guard station. Some homeless folks hanging around at times but no issues. Across street from big Ala Moana Mall. Home to Honolulu yacht club.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan_Carla_604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Parents...choose another beach!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is not a good option for families. The beach is very dirty, and I wouldn't feel safe having my children there. There are plenty of smoking, loitering people combined with many homeless people sleeping. I have a special needs child who would wander off and it's just not somewhere I would bring her.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MNtrvL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ala Moana Beach Park also viewed

 

Been to Ala Moana Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing