We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“too many people” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waikiki Beach

Waikiki Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Surfing Lessons On Waikiki Beach
Ranked #16 of 318 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oahu's most popular beach.
san jose, ca
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“too many people”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

nice beach but there are beaches on Oahu, the North shore has better and less crowded beaches. Too many homeless and clueless tourists.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank louseuferer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,178
    3,334
    1,749
    381
    139
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“just like TV”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

smal beach very grouded but just like on TV was great to just walk along the beach to say that I have done it

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
469 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great beach for people watching!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have been to Waikiki beach many times and really love it. The view of Diamond Head is gorgeous. Love just watching all the people. Water is warm and the sunsets are beautiful!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kiwizoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guntersville, Alabama
Level Contributor
135 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“World class beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Yes, Waikiki can be crowded and stressful, but you are in Hawaii. Dress up with Aloha spirit find a good spot for you and enjoy. The best place in my opinion is in front Kapiolani park.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arvrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The shelf goes out FOREVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The water is only thigh-deep for a LONG ways out. We had a great time just sitting in the shallows, letting the waves toss us around. Everyone kept telling me how SMALL the beach was, especially for it being world-famous, but I was surpised that it ended up being larger than I expected. It's absolutely post-card beautiful. Obviously, it's also very busy year-round.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Seanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waikiki Beach also viewed

 

Been to Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing