We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waikiki Beach

Waikiki Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Surfing Lessons On Waikiki Beach
Ranked #16 of 321 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oahu's most popular beach.
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“a great visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

you have to visit this iconic beach, althought there are no waves. there is plenty to see and do on the beach and it is close to the shops in Honalulu.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnJCanberraAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,336
    3,427
    1,785
    385
    143
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Clean beach. Great waves.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I loved, loved this beach!
The waves looked good and the people were friendly.
The sand was clean and the beach had plenty of space for everyone. People walking around with boogie boards and surfboards. Good times!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bluewater08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Calmer Beach, Popular (and therefore crowded)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

The beach is beautiful and open. It was crowded but we didn't have a problem finding a spot for our belongings. This beach is known for having calmer waters and is a more gentle experience for swimmers and beginning surfers. However don't let the smaller waves deceive you; I believe I experienced a bit of rip current when I swam out early one morning and I had a lot more difficulty getting back to shore than I did swimming out to sea. It felt like the waves were dragging me backward and I had to swim diagonally to make it back to shallow water. There are no lifeguards early in the morning (I believe my swim was around 7 AM) so have more sense than me and do not go swimming by yourself or count on the early morning surfers to be there to rescue you.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

When i first went to Waikiki i was struck by how differnt it was to what I had expected ! its a great place to go busy with nightlife and daylife and so much to see do and eat. The shopping covers all bases from the ultra cheap to the ultra speak. Lots of police presence which is good just beware of all the prostitutes in the main front by the ABC store !!!!!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank leesjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fun people watching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great to watch the surfers and paddle boarders.It is busy but you'd expect that. The views of Diamond Head crater are lovely. Some stretches have lifeguards and there are plenty of restrooms and showers to rinse off sand. Surf lessons available. Careful to watch where you walk in the sand as there is rubbish.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank clairelybelgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing