We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent taste”
Review of Sand Bar and Grill

Sand Bar and Grill
Ranked #404 of 2,370 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“excellent taste”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

i'm not a big restuarant eater, but on this trip i decided to try this place instead of the other option Mcdonlads, which i would never go to.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank wollacott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    39
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“OK priced food. service is a bit slow.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The service is a bit off. The food was good once it arrived, but in the 3 times we ate here it always took a substantial amount of time to have our food served.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tpolston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
251 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“great local bar”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

and great food. sizzling steak is fab as is the ahi. well really everything was good. ate here a couple of times. liked sitting at the bar and talking with the locals. tourists from all over.

prices were good and if you are a night owl the place is open to 4am.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank l1jjc0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverine, Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food - slow service”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Food was great both times we ate there. Service was neglectful after the initial order. Took a while for the waitress/bartender to come to take the order. Waitress only came back once & we had to ask for our bill.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The food here is amazing. We love it and this is the reason we booked this hotel because we had stayed at the Aqua Surf in the past and went here. So glad we did! Kalua pork nachos, fish and chips, the island catch, sizzling steak platter and teriyaki chicken, ALL DELISH and reasonable!! The only slight complaint I have is that there is usually only one waitress working so the service can get slow. BUT, you're in Hawaii, you have nice breezes flowing in and there is no hurry, unless you're REALLY hungry ;)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Sand Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing