We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great adult night out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lewers Lounge

Lewers Lounge
Ranked #247 of 2,229 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great adult night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Intimate lounge area with relaxing music. Mixologist Joanna helped us with our drink choices and her recommendations and service were spot on. Had the poke tacos which were small but yummy. Really enjoyed our evening there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    14
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Inviting cocktail lounge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Beautifully decorated lounge at HAlekulani with musical goups and pianists every evening. Crafted cocktails by famous bar man Dale DeGroff. A great place to unwind and end the day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BataviaMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Eliza, Australia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“A lovely end to our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

It was the last night of our 3 weeks in Hawaii and we'd had a disappointing dinner at Chef Mavro so we headed for Lewers Lounge for a drink and some nibblies and to listen to some quiet music. We'd popped our heads in about 2 weeks earlier following dinner at La Mer in the hotel and it looked like a perfect place for us but, that night we'd already had plenty to eat and drink.
At around 8.45, there were only 2 other couples in the main room and a larger group in the room to the side. Maggie Herron was singing and playing piano as we walked in but gave us a smile and there was a wave from Rocky Holmes whilst waiting for his cue for saxophone accompaniment. We found a table which allowed us to see both of them (many tables don't) and sat on a comfortable couch and armchair.
The service was attentive and friendly and the barman highly experienced after a long time at the hotel. They serve an excellent and large martini and I ended up having 3 of them. We were enjoying ourselves and didn't want to leave and the waitress happily topped up the plates of nuts and chocolate/orange sticks which were provided with the drinks. My wife had a "dark and stormy" and 2 "lost passions". The cocktail prices were a little higher than we had been paying at restaurants in Hawaii but still way lower than Australian hotel prices. $14 for a very large and perfect martini is so cheap.
Maggie and Rocky are an accomplished duo (Rocky also plays flute and clarinet) and their versions of Joni Mitchell's "Woodstock" and "Be cool" were excellent. Maggie's voice is deep and sultry and I was reminded of Eliane Elias. At the end of a couple of their sets, they both came over separately for a chat. We were there for the music so the main room was ideal for us and we could still converse quietly during each set. However, a few larger groups arrived later and the side room provides an opportunity for louder conservation with the music in the background. As the crowd built up, more staff arrived so the service remained impeccable throughout. It was a lovely way to end our trip and we'll be back there when we return to Hawaii next year.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank gwegwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
111 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Boring, old and tired!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Not really a fan of this lady who does the vocal and the piano here. She's quite boring (made me sleepy). She is not a jazz or blues singer. Wasn't really friendly either! I am used to listening raw and pure jazz or blues music. This one doesn't even come close to playing out in New Orleans! Also, the most expensive place to have your vino. Living overseas half of my life gives me that great experienced when it comes to live entertainments. I'd say NO to this one!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank 374esped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
182 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Tops for Jazz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Outstanding, intimate setting for straight-ahead jazz, the best in Honolulu. Drinks are well made and the atmosphere is pure bliss for relaxing and enjoying friends and music.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank singabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewers Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Lewers Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing