We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
19 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$259
Hotels.com$259
Hyatt.com$259
Priceline$259
travelup.com$346
eDreams$259
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,575)
Filter reviews
7,575 results
Traveler rating
3,458
2,511
970
367
269
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,458
2,511
970
367
269
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ewa tower across the street shor restaurant swim bar ocean view waikiki beach farmers market the diamond head tower the duke statue breakfast buffet oceanfront room resort fee pool staff per day beach chairs third floor our honeymoon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,457 - 2,462 of 7,575 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2016

I have been staying here for almost 30 years as such have seen many changes and it was no difference this time.

First the room refresh this time really worked, kudos to the staff for that. The rooms are bright and airy, very nice.

Elevators still the worse part of this place and it appears that actually shut down several at times.

Buffet, getting worse. First the items and selections has been reduced and reduced yet the price is high for what you get. The omelet station and fresh fruit are the only highlights of the buffet. Staff continues to excel but you can tell when questioning they know.

The property has undergone some major repairs which are not yet done, taking a break for the coming season, so I am told. But as you walk around you still see the tiredness of the property. The Hyatt has gone through two Equity Capital firms that have sucked the life out of it. Off the record most employees have their fingers crossed that the new owners (Korean businessman) will put service and life back into it. Remember the last private owner ( a Japanese businessman ) made this hotel what it is or I should say what it was.

The staff is fantastic just great and none of what is going on is a reflection on them.

Room tip: any view of the ocean !
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ghostrider5408
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRW_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2016

Aloha Ghostrider5408,

Thank you for you choosing our property as your Waikiki destination and for sharing your feedback with us after your stays. Your high regard for our associates and the services they provide is incredible and we are grateful for all the kind remarks. I am glad that you like the outcome of the recent renovation of the rooms. We do continue to address the elevator issue and have embarked upon a complete modernization project. This will take some time however you will find newer and far more efficient cabs in the near future. I apologize for any delays you may have experienced during your last visit. I am also sorry that we have disappointed you with the quality of the buffet selection. The team at SHOR is always responsive to guest feedback and I will be sure to share this with them as well.

Mahalo nui loa,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

Best hotel in Honolulu. Great location and amenities. The rooms are really nice. The staff is so helpful and friendly. The breakfast Buffett is yummy too! If you plan it right, you can get an ocean view room for really cheap! I highly recommend this place.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank dancinqt366
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2016

Good reasons to stay here: great location, great views from the ocean-front rooms, comfortable rooms and all amenities. Classic Hyatt architecture with impressive lobby shopping and public spaces. Good wifi. We had no problem at all with elevator access, which seems to be a common complaint.

Our experience: we had a few plumbing problems in both our rooms. Low water pressure was fixed but the showers weren't, and we had cold/lukewarm showers for both days of our stay. I'd put up with that in a cheap motel, but not in refurbished rooms in a premium property in Waikiki. The traffic noise was also an irritation. The glazing is obviously not of the sound-proofing kind.

The breakfast buffet in SHOR was a major disappointment, and to my mind, unacceptably poor for a hotel of this class. The fresh fruits on offer comprised strips of pineapple, unpeeled orange quarters, and sliced, unpeeled papaya. That was it. No berries, no melon, no grapes, no kiwi, nothing else. The continental section had just one breakfast pastry - croissants. Boring sliced breads for toast. One kind of breakfast cheese. One type of ham. The hot section had no sausage, no hash browns. Cold scrambled eggs and lukewarm bacon. At $30 per person this is just insulting. To cap it all, the jam pots at our table had been half-eaten by previous occupants.

The front desk responded to my complaint by suggesting I should have looked at the buffet before committing to a table. I responded by saying that I expected a hotel of Hyatt's standing (and pricing) to put on a first class breakfast, and that I should not have to look at it before choosing it.

I'm not sure what it is, but there is something missing from the guest experience here, and I think it boils down to old-fashioned hospitality. I felt like a "number" and a charge folio, not a guest. Had my complaint about the breakfast been responded to more sympathetically, I would have rated it a better-than-average experience, but it's all just so impersonal, and I got the impression they don't really care enough. I won't be returning.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sparky536
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRW_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2016

Aloha sparky536,

I am sorry that the service you received in regards to your breakfast and the response you were given about it spoiled an otherwise positive experience. While our location, views, room, amenities, and wifi were all favorable for you, the breakfast offering obviously fell short of your expectations and I have shared this feedback with the SHOR manager and Executive Chef. We are constantly evaluating guest feedback and this will help guide us in future planning for the food and service. Unfortunately, the service issue continued with the lack of empathy shown at your departure. The response you have described did not show any sign of empathy towards your disappointment and that is not the spirit aloha for which our associates are often recognized. This has already been addressed with the front desk supervisor and will be discussed with the agents. Please feel free to email us at waikiki.regency@hyatt.com if you have any questions or further comments regarding your stay. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Mahalo,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016

After 2 hectic years in Sydney the stay at the Hyatt was perfect. The staff are to be commended on the service to guests. The central location of the Hotel makes travel easy. Walking to various tourist attractions and centres was always a pleasure. This was our 12th trip to Hawaii and our second stay at the Hyatt ( previously stayed at Moana Surfrider) and we will be returning again soon. We have recommended Hyatt to all our friends and colleagues. Thank you.Hyatt staff for a very enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank maximiliaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile

We booked our trip 2 weeks prior the Labor Day weekend and I it was quite difficult to make a selection, demand and prices seemed to be pretty high. We finally settled for this hotel spite mixed reviews. Me personally every time I read a hotel looks tired I want to booked in another place I have a thing for newly remodeled hotels or well kept hotels.
I called the hotel ahead and they confirmed that all the rooms were renovated and the carpet in the lobby was recently changed that put me at ease. The hotel is a big property with 2 towers diamond head and ewa. We stayed at ewa tower room 711 with frontal ocean view and the small pool. The view was really nice, just a tad noisy at times but enjoyable for the most part.
The room was spacious with the common amenities of a 4 star hotel. I like that they provided shopping bags to carry your towels to the beach, also in the valet parking area they have beach towels available. We didn't use the pool but we went to get the foldable beach chairs for the beach.
Overall it was a great experience. I like the shops at the hotel especially Kai coffee (very nice lattes and frappes). I like the tropical atmosphere, tropical flowers and birds.
In regards to the tiredness of the hotel I will give some love to the elevators.
It's a busy hotel with heavy foot traffic.
Will I come back? Maybe, next time I'll start my search 4 weeks ahead if it's a holiday weekend.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank bluelace
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRW_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2016

Aloha bluelace,

Thank you for making us your final decision when booking your vacation destination. Waikiki is a global destination so you will find that the hotels run at high occupancy throughout the year. During your visit, you may have noted that we are currently celebrating forty years of service. We are honored to be a part of such a remarkable community and do take great care of our guests and property. I am thankful that you researched our hotel and found it fit your service, amenities and aesthetic needs for the holiday weekend. Should you decide to return to us in the future, please feel free to contact us at waikiki.regency@hyatt.com for assistance.

Mahalo,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews