We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$329
$300
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$279
$209
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$222
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$405
$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$239
$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (5,857)
Filter reviews
5,857 results
Traveler rating
2,586
2,078
771
251
171
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,586
2,078
771
251
171
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsewa toweracross the streetshor restaurantswim barfarmers marketocean viewthe diamond head towerthe duke statuebreakfast buffetresort feelarge hotelwaikiki resortbeach chairspool staffthird floorour honeymoonlots of shops
Filter
Updating list...
4,034 - 4,039 of 5,857 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2009

Had a ocean view room facing towards the sheraton.The hotel is very nice it is a bit 80-90's in decor but still acceptable.The buffett is ok for breakfast but nothing like the breakfasts in SE asia.The gym is adequate.The rooms are large and the decor is good ,the balcony's are a good size.overall 7.5/10

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigbrett71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

When my husband and I arrived from our orgainsed Virgin flight for our honeymoon in Hawaii which had been scheduled for 11am arrival we got to Hyatt at 12 lunch time, and was told by the reception that our room would not be ready til 3pm, we said what could they do for us? They struggled to find a clean room and stuck us in what they called a Mountain View room (Which is what we'd booked so thought that was ok) until we got to the room, it's like saying you can see the alps, it's somewhere out there beyond the high rise towers, streets, houses and freeways!!!! Also next to a noisey lift shaft, we'd stayed in better Best Western hotels (Which on comparison are considerably cheaper than the Hyatt) the room was quarter of the size and the bathroom, well you had to go outside to change your mind it was so small.
Was so upset that they knew this was our final leg of our honeymoon and we were getting treated roughly, especially as Virgin sorted flights and hotels and should have known check in times!!! We asked to be moved to our originally booked room when it was ready as it was not ideal to stay in that room. Immediately they said it was ready (Within ten mins since being told it wouldn't be ready til 3pm!!!) Bellman came to room and moved us to different tower and said we should have had a bottle of champagnye and said he'd get one sent up. The bellman this was??? Surely the reception should organise this not the bellman? Anyway no champagnye was ever sent and the room was even worse than the first one!

We were told by Virgin this hotel was in a serene area of Hawaii and would make for a beautiful Honeymoon!!!! So wrong Waikiki is like the party capital of the world everyone and their dogs were there. My reccomendation is that if you are looking for romantic, quiet, honeymoon setting Lanika Beach is perfect, Waikiki never in a million years and certainly not the Hyatt. Is a very disjointed hotel and has two old fashioned towers, a make over wouldn't hurt and a change of room description would be great.

City View not Mountain View!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank joNmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

You only need to step across the street to get to beach and all the shops are right there. The location of the hotel is very good.

The decor is a bit outdated, but good enough. I would say it looks 80s. The room was quite up to standard. And the service was good. My suitcase had a squeaky wheel and they got someone to oil it up. The staff are kind of young, but friendly. It's not an upscale or elegant place, but the room was very nice and you can't beat the location.

Right after Honolulu, I was in Los Angeles and stayed at the Hyatt Regency Century City. Two very different hotels. The Honolulu hotel is friendly and older, while the Los Angeles hotel is more upscale and newer.

I would stay here again if I were in Honolulu.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westinhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. The view from the balcony on the 37th floor was simple breathtaking. The service was top notch and the room was clean. There is nothing I could find wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABKKTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

This was probably a beautiful hotel at one time. I had a great time here, even though there is a serious need to update this very tired hotel.

1) There is only so much they can do with the buildings. It basically looks like 2 old apartment building towers that were in style at one point in time. Probably not much they can do about the outside.

2) The room was terribly outdated, with tiles peeling in the bathroom and very old wallpaper in the rooms. The beds were nice, typical Hyatt beds.

3) They have a GREAT loung near the pool, and this really makes the hotel. A bartender named Stephen is 1 of the best bartenders I have seen in a while. From 5-6 PM they hava happy hour with decent appetizers and very decent drinks for $5 a pop. Many of the drinks we had around Waikiki were very weak-- these drinks were not. And the bar service was excellent!

4) The pool is ABYSMAL. There must be over 1000 rooms and there is a pool that is smaller than many pools you find at a home. And the hot tubs could fit maybe 3 at a time comfortably. Very appalling. And there is tons of space for the hotel to expand the pool on the 3rd floor where the pool is located.

5) The Concierge service had both very helpful and painfully unhelpful staff. No matter what, they were all veyr friendly. The staff have not been on any of the trips they are offering, and one of the staff members, a local, could not give us the name of more than ONE local restaurant!

6) All in all, for some reason even though there are a lot of downsides to the Hyatt, it is a fun place as well.

I am not sure I would suggest it so heavily. I would suggest going to the Happy Hour from 5-6 to get inexpensive drinks and apps while listening to some half-way decent music.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlendaleCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews