We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,103)
Filter reviews
6,103 results
Traveler rating
2,717
2,148
798
261
179
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,717
2,148
798
261
179
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsewa toweracross the streetshor restaurantswim barfarmers marketocean viewthe diamond head towerthe duke statuebreakfast buffetresort feelarge hotelwaikiki resortbeach chairspool staffthird floorour honeymoonlots of shops
Filter
Updating list...
4,258 - 4,263 of 6,103 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2009

Fast checkin, changed from room near elevator (you could hear the dinging sound in the room!) to partial ocean view room (we booked on Priceline for $130). Huge room, supercomfy bed, huge bathroom, nice balcony. Of course since you are in Waikiki, we could faintly hear the entertainment from the resort next door! Nice view of main street, fun to watch people.

Did not eat at any hotel restaurants. Lots of yummy prepared food at ABC Stores in hotel, including lots of Asian specialties. Also ate at Cheesecake Factory just down the street.

Pool was nice, free beach towels & even little beach chairs for the beach. Very pleasant to lie by pool area also. Nice looking fitness room that we didnt use. Lower part of hotel is really a shopping mall, a bit busy but its Waikiki, what do you expect?

Hotel very accomodating for our late checkout. Gave us hospitality room until 2pm which was basically a regular city view room with all the amenities & toiletries.

Very convenient car rental located in hotel, cheaper if you book in advance. Check out the Premium Outlet mall just outside Honolulu!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoToBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

Im mean, who could complain, its Hawaii!!
We spent the first 5 days at the HYATT. Good sized rooms, very clean, great view of Diamond Head, very kid/family friendly, right on the beach, and a perfect location for the pool, overlooking the ocean.
We traveled to the North Shore for the second half of our trip and stayed at Turtle Bay. It was hard to compare the two until after the trip was over. I would never go back to Turtle bay. Not family friendly at all, old, dirty, MOLDY, ectremely expensive ($100 per meal for 2 adults and 2 kids? Seriously?), and not alot to do there.
The HYATT had tons of things to do in the area. Tons of stores inside and out of th ehotel, decent restaurants at the HYATT, but we ate out most of the time. There were so many good places to eat, so many shops to go to, the street performers were awesome, and we felt safe everywhere we went. It was kind of like being in downtown Chicago, but cleaner, WARMER, and much safer. We went to Diamond Head, the beach, snorkeling, visited Dog the Bounty Hunters place, went to the shopping mall, rode the free trolly, and had a great time.
I would highly recommend this hotel, and would stay at the HYATT for our entire trip next time.There were no real negatives about this hotel. Kind of a different set up having the lobby on the second floor, but that was fine too.
A++++++++++++++++ place to stay!!!

3  Thank PYROMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

We loved it! I have stayed here three times and each stay was better than the last. All Hyatt hotel managers should come here to see how to run a property the right way, especially the ones from two loathsome properties: Grand Hyatt San Antonio and the Hyatt Regency Albuquerque.

The staff gave us mad Aloha from the moment we arrived. We were greeted at the front counter with bottled water and a friendly front counter staff that gave us an ocean view upgrade and an escort to our tower (Ewa tower is on the other side of the hotel from the entrance). The view from the room was magnificent. The hotel is full of shops, has its own surf academy and has the best location on Waikiki -- right across the street from the beach! Moreover, 24 Hour Fitness is one block away.

Some posters have complained about the room AC. These are fair comments. Although we were never uncomfortable, air conditioner performance is suboptimal. As a result, we slept with the slider open to take in the ocean breeze and we were fine. Comments about the hotel room doors are also right on. Although you don't notice it much inside the room, they do slam loudly!

The breakfast buffet was great! It may seem a little pricey at $26/person; however, given the fine quality and variety of food, and the high price of food on the island anyway, it proved to be an exceptional value. Our server Charlene was terrific. After the first day, she remembered our drink orders and would have them waiting for us upon return from the buffet line. She also provided information to my wife that proved valuable about taking a light sweater to the Paradise Cove luau.

Dale, the omelet station chef, was great and also provided helpful info about the island attractions. You can tell that these professionals take great pride in their island as well as their service.

The hotel has a three-level, open-air shopping arcade built around an atrium with a waterfall as the centerpiece. The spa is on the fourth level with a magnificent view of the sea at palm tree height.

Suggestion: Parking (valet and self) is expensive! Don't rent a car at the airport. Take the $33 cab ride and rent your car at Hertz or Budget. Both have offices at the hotel. You can rent the car only when you need it and turn it in at the end of the day to avoid the outrageous parking fee. We rented a car at the airport and didn't drive much because everything is within walking distance. We paid dearly to store it!

Overall, this is a fine property. Sometimes it is the culmination of getting all of the little details just right that turn a good stay into a great one!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Balad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2009

I'm a bit late posting this review, but we enjoyed this hotel. We were there for our honeymoon and would have preferred a larger room and a much larger bathroom. However, the locale was perfect...It was at the end of most of the shopping and right at Wakiki Beach. Lovely, open-air hotel with amazing views, whether beach-side or mountain-side. The pools were spacious and nice. Our favorite part of our stay here was the breakfast. We were still on Atlanta time and woke up around 6:00 am Ohau time! The buffett and spread for breakfast was amazing...the freshest fruits, smoothies, omelet bar, cereals, juices, pasteries...
sinful:) erall, this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank holliehobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Had a room on the 17th floor overlooking the beach so view was very good and we had a prime position for the fireworks display on New Year's Eve.
The room was OK but we had a lot of noise from neighbouring rooms and also the room above us. The bathroom did not have a seperate shower which I would have expected in a 4 star hotel - in fact the bathroom was very small and shabby. However the toiletries were of good quality and they even left a tube of toothpaste which I though was a nice touch. No shower caps though!
We only tried one of the restaurants - the Ciao Mein. This was good but expensive. Portions should be smaller and cheaper.
Loved the shops in the hotel and as the Hyatt is very central all amenities are readily to hand.
On a general note there are a lot of tramps and prostitutes in Waikiki and this spoiled the area for me.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank bapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews