We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My current favorite place to stay while in Honolulu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 25, 2014

You know,it's kind of funny...places seem to come and go out of favor for me. I know some others like this as well. I'm really not sure sometimes why I start to drift from one "regular" place to another. Something just changes, sometimes tangible sometimes not. Maybe it's just because the destination is so busy it's difficult to stay at the same place all the time, especially with short notice. After being a loyal follower of another brand, the Hyatt Waikiki is currently my venue of choice for travel to Honolulu.

So whats the point of all of that dribble above? Well, it's really to highlight that in this ever changing environment its great location, and more importantly the fantastic staff that keeps me coming back to the Hyatt! The general Waikiki area has a -lot- of hotel choices. And you know what? They stay pretty busy. Tourism is obviously a major draw to the area and the ebbs and flows of that industry tend dictate both availability and rates. The Hyatt and the contacts I have established have proven to be a tremendous help in my travel. They go out of their way to get me a room even when occupancy is high. I often travel with other team members and they apply that same level of amazing service to them as well. I value this service above and beyond so many other things. Sometimes it's the simple things that make a difference.

The property here is centrally located in the world famous Waikiki Beach part of Honolulu. Walk right across the street and you are surfing, laying on the beach, swimming or people watching. (and there are some real characters out there!) The hotel itself offers some great amenities like a nice pool with a connected bar, hot tub, private cabanas and more. Wonderful restaurant choices on property as well from Shor to Japengo to the awesome Kai Coffee shop on the ground floor. Lots of shopping options on the ground floor as well as a farmers market twice a week.

The place is busy, especially in summer so be patient. There is also a big remodel happening now so that can cause some delays with elevators, and other functions. This should take care of some comments I read saying it's not up to Hyatt standards.

Rooms are good sized and clean, but definitely ready for the remodel that is happening now. All of the rooms have a nice lanai and are functional despite the slightly odd layout. I will say on the higher floors it can sometimes get a bit noisy as the wind blows the sliding doors. Hoping this will improve as the remodel is completed. Things have a way of starting to creak, moan and rattle as they get older. Not that I would know anything about that :)

In summary, I would strongly recommend the Hyatt Regency Waikiki for your consideration. I know I will be going back.

Room Tip: Waikiki is louder than you might expect. While the Mountain view rooms don't offer the great bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Aloha Mike H,

Thank you so much for the kind remarks and feedback. We value your comments and will be certain to share your review with our associates. While we recognize this review is geared to the guest looking for recommendations for the right place to stay but we do want to respond to one comment which is in regards to the wind. The answer is yes, new lanai doors are a part of the remodel. We look forward to reading your comments after your next stay.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,192 - 2,198 of 5,531 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2014

The hotel is located directly across the street from Waikiki Beach. Since the hotel is currently undergoing major renovation, I requested a new room when I checked in. After the front desk clerk checked with the manager, I was given a new room that was being released that day, but it wouldn’t be ready until 6:00 PM so they gave me another room to use until then. I left for dinner and they had all my luggage moved to the new room when I returned.

They have beach chairs and towels that you can take to the beach. One day after toweling off after surfing, a person came by and introduced himself as the pool staff from the Hyatt. He walks along the beach looking for Hyatt towels and chairs and passes out ice cold water bottles to the guests! We then went back to hang out by the pool, and another worker was passing out “otter pops” to all the guests. What amazing service. The Regency Club is very nice and has outdoor seating that looks out onto Waikiki Beach.

The renovation is supposed to be completed by March, 2015, but there is also major construction where the International Market Place used to be (across the street from the Ewa tower) so expect some noise.

Room Tip: Currently only the Ewa tower has the newly renovated rooms, but you will have some noise from constr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoomy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Aloha zoomy61,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and we hope you liked the newly remodeled room. We want to especially thank you for the comments regarding the services, in particular the pool associates. Your rave reviews of the services offered at both the pool and on the beach have been shared with our supervisors.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This was part of a holiday package for our honeymoon and it was a pleasant surprise given the good value of the package. It was a great location right across from Waikiki Beach and only metres from the shops and all the tours left from the back of the hotel which was handy. You could walk to most places and even Ala Moana was in walking distance. It had a balcony and even though we had the city view but that allowed for spectacular views of the mountains which was perfect to have a wine and enjoy the view at the end of the day. We were on the 24th floor so didn't get any street noise and the rooms were comfortable and very clean. The staff were very friendly and nothing was a bother to them. I would highly recommend this place for anyone going to Waikiki.

Room Tip: When they say that the airport shuttle leaves from the front, it is actually from the side. We nearl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Aloha Angelphil,

Thank you for reviewing your stay and for sharing this important life event with us. We are honored to have been a part of your memorable visit and we hope that you will return to us again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Not at the standing of any Hyatt, old room, old bathroom even they told is they were renovate! All was old and without any personality. For sure not a five stars hotel. Bedsheets were dirty !
Club, no free wine !
I will never go back .

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank tiger2669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

This was my second stay at the Hyatt and the room this time round was even better - we were given a newly refurbished room and although having to wait for this room to be made available due to a conference in house we were more than happy to take off to the beach and spend the afternoon there .
The attentiveness of the front desk staff was exemplary - specifically Mark-Thomas - whom kept us informed by sms of updates - other reviewers I have noted did not have the same experience and I can only say that we did not have any issue at all . The room was on the 34th floor and all staff from the bell desk to the lady who serviced our floor were fantastic - even the construction guys helped us out when our door jammed .
The newly refurbished rooms are a huge improvement to the old decor and this property could not be better located or facilitated with shops within the complex.
Every week they host a Farmers Market in the atrium so local producers can brings goods be it fruits vegetables freshly made food breads pastries etc to sell so you can purchase goods direct from the providers and its gives them access to a broader range of buyers .
The other bonus I find awesome is the fact that the hotel provides beach towels and beach chairs to guests to take over to the beach -so one less thing to take up space in your luggage and the fact that the Pool guy from the Hyatt comes over to the beach with cold water to give to Hyatt guests - he can pick you out from the towels ! Very appreciated when you have got a warm bottle of water !
The Pool is on the second level of the hotel so offers you views of the ocean and also is high to keep pedestrian traffic looking in.
The location is in close walking proximity to all restaurants and shops - less than 5 mins and you can even walk back from Diamond Head in around 40 mins . - downhill so it's easy !
Love this hotel to bits and would stay again for a 3rd time without hesitation .

Room Tip: request a high floor for the views if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Aloha Natalie Maria M,

Thank you for your continued support and for sharing feedback from your most recent stay. We are glad that you liked the newly remodeled rooms and the enhancement of the services from the pool desk. We've made sure to share your comments with Mark and all of our associates. We look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We just stayed in this hotel for a week from 14th August until the 21st of August. The day we arrived our room was not ready but we expected that as our plane landed early in the morning. We waited until we could get into our room and when we finally did it was on the 18th floor city view (which we knew) but the construction was going on above our heads however being so tired we slept anyway and by the late afternoon it had all stopped and we never heard it again. We asked when we checked in if there was any chance of a room upgrade to a ocean view. The hotel accommodated us and said we could have a room from the 16th August for a very reasonable extra cost. Well the new room was beautiful, 38th (3810) floor full ocean view. Brand new refurb room and the view was something out of this world. Staff were all very nice and we really loved our stay. Having been to Waikiki twice before and my mother who was travelling with me had been there 5 times before we know what we like in a hotel and this one ticks all the boxes for us. It was our first time staying with Hyatt but certainly will not be our last. If your going to Hawaii and want a great hotel, top view and very central look no further than this one. Truly made our holiday great. Thanks to all at the Hyatt Regency.

Room Tip: 36th floor and up. We had 3810 totally recommend that room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Liarne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Aloha Liarne M,

Thank you for the wonderful review and feedback regarding the newly remodeled rooms. We are honored you and your mother selected us as your vacation hotel.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

When we first arrived at the hotel we were thrilled to hear we would be placed in a newly refurbished room on the 39th floor if we were able to wait an hour for the room to be cleaned. After an eager wait we approached same female receptionist only to hear we would have to wait another two hours for the room. With some reluctance we accepted the wait and relaxed by the pool bar as we were exhausted from the plane trip. Two hours later we again approached the same receptionist and asked about our room. The receptionist then advised us that the room may not be available until the next day to which we were unimpressed having had waited for three hours already. Exhausted, we asked to be placed into another room until the room would be available. The receptionist stated to us that she would upgrade us to a room on level 9, 30 floors below what the receptionist had promised us. That night we approached the same receptionist and asked what time would be best to move the next day to which she responded with rudely, 'Oh is there something wrong with your room? The newly refurbished room is not longer available.' Aside from the fact that it took an incredible amount of time to be given a room after we had booked months in advance and to receive our luggage, we were no longer bothered to continue communications with this particular receptionist and stayed in our level 9 room. Unfortunately for this hotel we will definitely never return as a result of the way we were treated and spoken to by a particular female staff member. In contrast, the rooms were clean and the house-cleaning staff were friendly and attentive at all times. I only wish we had approached a different desk at check-in and our experience may have been completely different. For months we were extremely excited about our trip that we had been saving our money and vacation days for and unfortunately our excitment was tainted by the treatment we received at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KristinaKatie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
320 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $258 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all the excitement of Waikiki from one incredible location. Steps from the azure blue waters and soft sands of Waikiki Beach, Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa offers magnificent personalized services and luxurious amenities including world-class dining, award-winning spa, interactive cultural activities, 24-hour fitness center, swimming pool overlooking the Pacific Ocean, and more than 60 on-site boutiques. The resort provides the perfect place for those who want to make the most of their island experience and connect with the heart of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splitty, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing