We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,221)
Filter reviews
6,221 results
Traveler rating
2,770
2,177
816
268
190
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,770
2,177
816
268
190
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ewa tower across the street shor restaurant swim bar waikiki beach farmers market ocean view the diamond head tower the duke statue breakfast buffet resort fee large hotel pool staff beach chairs third floor our honeymoon lots of shops
Filter
Updating list...
2,708 - 2,713 of 6,221 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2014

The hotel is located directly across the street from Waikiki Beach. Since the hotel is currently undergoing major renovation, I requested a new room when I checked in. After the front desk clerk checked with the manager, I was given a new room that was being released that day, but it wouldn’t be ready until 6:00 PM so they gave me another room to use until then. I left for dinner and they had all my luggage moved to the new room when I returned.

They have beach chairs and towels that you can take to the beach. One day after toweling off after surfing, a person came by and introduced himself as the pool staff from the Hyatt. He walks along the beach looking for Hyatt towels and chairs and passes out ice cold water bottles to the guests! We then went back to hang out by the pool, and another worker was passing out “otter pops” to all the guests. What amazing service. The Regency Club is very nice and has outdoor seating that looks out onto Waikiki Beach.

The renovation is supposed to be completed by March, 2015, but there is also major construction where the International Market Place used to be (across the street from the Ewa tower) so expect some noise.

Room tip: Currently only the Ewa tower has the newly renovated rooms, but you will have some noise from construction. If you like it quieter, choose the Diamond Head tower, but the rooms are a little tired.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoomy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Aloha zoomy61,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and we hope you liked the newly remodeled room. We want to especially thank you for the comments regarding the services, in particular the pool associates. Your rave reviews of the services offered at both the pool and on the beach have been shared with our supervisors.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This was part of a holiday package for our honeymoon and it was a pleasant surprise given the good value of the package. It was a great location right across from Waikiki Beach and only metres from the shops and all the tours left from the back of the hotel which was handy. You could walk to most places and even Ala Moana was in walking distance. It had a balcony and even though we had the city view but that allowed for spectacular views of the mountains which was perfect to have a wine and enjoy the view at the end of the day. We were on the 24th floor so didn't get any street noise and the rooms were comfortable and very clean. The staff were very friendly and nothing was a bother to them. I would highly recommend this place for anyone going to Waikiki.

Room tip: When they say that the airport shuttle leaves from the front, it is actually from the side. We nearly missed ours.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Aloha Angelphil,

Thank you for reviewing your stay and for sharing this important life event with us. We are honored to have been a part of your memorable visit and we hope that you will return to us again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Not at the standing of any Hyatt, old room, old bathroom even they told is they were renovate! All was old and without any personality. For sure not a five stars hotel. Bedsheets were dirty !
Club, no free wine !
I will never go back .

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank tiger2669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

This was my second stay at the Hyatt and the room this time round was even better - we were given a newly refurbished room and although having to wait for this room to be made available due to a conference in house we were more than happy to take off to the beach and spend the afternoon there .
The attentiveness of the front desk staff was exemplary - specifically Mark-Thomas - whom kept us informed by sms of updates - other reviewers I have noted did not have the same experience and I can only say that we did not have any issue at all . The room was on the 34th floor and all staff from the bell desk to the lady who serviced our floor were fantastic - even the construction guys helped us out when our door jammed .
The newly refurbished rooms are a huge improvement to the old decor and this property could not be better located or facilitated with shops within the complex.
Every week they host a Farmers Market in the atrium so local producers can brings goods be it fruits vegetables freshly made food breads pastries etc to sell so you can purchase goods direct from the providers and its gives them access to a broader range of buyers .
The other bonus I find awesome is the fact that the hotel provides beach towels and beach chairs to guests to take over to the beach -so one less thing to take up space in your luggage and the fact that the Pool guy from the Hyatt comes over to the beach with cold water to give to Hyatt guests - he can pick you out from the towels ! Very appreciated when you have got a warm bottle of water !
The Pool is on the second level of the hotel so offers you views of the ocean and also is high to keep pedestrian traffic looking in.
The location is in close walking proximity to all restaurants and shops - less than 5 mins and you can even walk back from Diamond Head in around 40 mins . - downhill so it's easy !
Love this hotel to bits and would stay again for a 3rd time without hesitation .

Room tip: request a high floor for the views if available
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Aloha Natalie Maria M,

Thank you for your continued support and for sharing feedback from your most recent stay. We are glad that you liked the newly remodeled rooms and the enhancement of the services from the pool desk. We've made sure to share your comments with Mark and all of our associates. We look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We just stayed in this hotel for a week from 14th August until the 21st of August. The day we arrived our room was not ready but we expected that as our plane landed early in the morning. We waited until we could get into our room and when we finally did it was on the 18th floor city view (which we knew) but the construction was going on above our heads however being so tired we slept anyway and by the late afternoon it had all stopped and we never heard it again. We asked when we checked in if there was any chance of a room upgrade to a ocean view. The hotel accommodated us and said we could have a room from the 16th August for a very reasonable extra cost. Well the new room was beautiful, 38th (3810) floor full ocean view. Brand new refurb room and the view was something out of this world. Staff were all very nice and we really loved our stay. Having been to Waikiki twice before and my mother who was travelling with me had been there 5 times before we know what we like in a hotel and this one ticks all the boxes for us. It was our first time staying with Hyatt but certainly will not be our last. If your going to Hawaii and want a great hotel, top view and very central look no further than this one. Truly made our holiday great. Thanks to all at the Hyatt Regency.

Room tip: 36th floor and up. We had 3810 totally recommend that room
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Liarne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Aloha Liarne M,

Thank you for the wonderful review and feedback regarding the newly remodeled rooms. We are honored you and your mother selected us as your vacation hotel.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews