We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,143)
Filter reviews
6,143 results
Traveler rating
2,739
2,159
804
261
180
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,739
2,159
804
261
180
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ewa tower across the street shor restaurant swim bar farmers market ocean view the diamond head tower the duke statue breakfast buffet resort fee large hotel waikiki resort beach chairs pool staff third floor our honeymoon lots of shops
Filter
Updating list...
2,655 - 2,660 of 6,143 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2014

This was my second stay at the Hyatt and the room this time round was even better - we were given a newly refurbished room and although having to wait for this room to be made available due to a conference in house we were more than happy to take off to the beach and spend the afternoon there .
The attentiveness of the front desk staff was exemplary - specifically Mark-Thomas - whom kept us informed by sms of updates - other reviewers I have noted did not have the same experience and I can only say that we did not have any issue at all . The room was on the 34th floor and all staff from the bell desk to the lady who serviced our floor were fantastic - even the construction guys helped us out when our door jammed .
The newly refurbished rooms are a huge improvement to the old decor and this property could not be better located or facilitated with shops within the complex.
Every week they host a Farmers Market in the atrium so local producers can brings goods be it fruits vegetables freshly made food breads pastries etc to sell so you can purchase goods direct from the providers and its gives them access to a broader range of buyers .
The other bonus I find awesome is the fact that the hotel provides beach towels and beach chairs to guests to take over to the beach -so one less thing to take up space in your luggage and the fact that the Pool guy from the Hyatt comes over to the beach with cold water to give to Hyatt guests - he can pick you out from the towels ! Very appreciated when you have got a warm bottle of water !
The Pool is on the second level of the hotel so offers you views of the ocean and also is high to keep pedestrian traffic looking in.
The location is in close walking proximity to all restaurants and shops - less than 5 mins and you can even walk back from Diamond Head in around 40 mins . - downhill so it's easy !
Love this hotel to bits and would stay again for a 3rd time without hesitation .

Room Tip: request a high floor for the views if available
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Aloha Natalie Maria M,

Thank you for your continued support and for sharing feedback from your most recent stay. We are glad that you liked the newly remodeled rooms and the enhancement of the services from the pool desk. We've made sure to share your comments with Mark and all of our associates. We look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We just stayed in this hotel for a week from 14th August until the 21st of August. The day we arrived our room was not ready but we expected that as our plane landed early in the morning. We waited until we could get into our room and when we finally did it was on the 18th floor city view (which we knew) but the construction was going on above our heads however being so tired we slept anyway and by the late afternoon it had all stopped and we never heard it again. We asked when we checked in if there was any chance of a room upgrade to a ocean view. The hotel accommodated us and said we could have a room from the 16th August for a very reasonable extra cost. Well the new room was beautiful, 38th (3810) floor full ocean view. Brand new refurb room and the view was something out of this world. Staff were all very nice and we really loved our stay. Having been to Waikiki twice before and my mother who was travelling with me had been there 5 times before we know what we like in a hotel and this one ticks all the boxes for us. It was our first time staying with Hyatt but certainly will not be our last. If your going to Hawaii and want a great hotel, top view and very central look no further than this one. Truly made our holiday great. Thanks to all at the Hyatt Regency.

Room Tip: 36th floor and up. We had 3810 totally recommend that room
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Liarne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Aloha Liarne M,

Thank you for the wonderful review and feedback regarding the newly remodeled rooms. We are honored you and your mother selected us as your vacation hotel.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

When we first arrived at the hotel we were thrilled to hear we would be placed in a newly refurbished room on the 39th floor if we were able to wait an hour for the room to be cleaned. After an eager wait we approached same female receptionist only to hear we would have to wait another two hours for the room. With some reluctance we accepted the wait and relaxed by the pool bar as we were exhausted from the plane trip. Two hours later we again approached the same receptionist and asked about our room. The receptionist then advised us that the room may not be available until the next day to which we were unimpressed having had waited for three hours already. Exhausted, we asked to be placed into another room until the room would be available. The receptionist stated to us that she would upgrade us to a room on level 9, 30 floors below what the receptionist had promised us. That night we approached the same receptionist and asked what time would be best to move the next day to which she responded with rudely, 'Oh is there something wrong with your room? The newly refurbished room is not longer available.' Aside from the fact that it took an incredible amount of time to be given a room after we had booked months in advance and to receive our luggage, we were no longer bothered to continue communications with this particular receptionist and stayed in our level 9 room. Unfortunately for this hotel we will definitely never return as a result of the way we were treated and spoken to by a particular female staff member. In contrast, the rooms were clean and the house-cleaning staff were friendly and attentive at all times. I only wish we had approached a different desk at check-in and our experience may have been completely different. For months we were extremely excited about our trip that we had been saving our money and vacation days for and unfortunately our excitment was tainted by the treatment we received at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KristinaKatie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

my husband and I just got back from our first trip to Hawaii and we could not have asked for a better stay the staff are friendly as soon as you step off the shuttle all the way till you hope back on the shuttle the location is awesome right across the road from Waikiki beach with nice views from our room we had a fabulous time the room it self was huge and a little dated but they are in the middle of renovations to the room we were on the 15th floor and renovations were on the 16th or 17th floor noise was kept to a minimum so thank you for that would love to stay here again when we bring back the kids but unfortunately we won't be able to as we would have to book two rooms as i don't think they have family rooms for five but anyway a big thank you to everyone for our fabulous stay hang on one other thing PLEASE don't get rid of the old photo in the rooms we absolutely loved them

Room Tip: ask for high up as possible and the diamond head tower would have love to have been in that tower
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Aloha Richelle F,

Thank you very much for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. To confirm, we do have Family Suites - two adjoining rooms with additional seating just for families. We hope that will encourage you to consider staying with us again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We chose this hotel because it was one offered as an early add on with our Norwegian Cruise around the islands. Norwegian has an office in the hotel lobby. If you arrive during their office hours and you booked through them, you can check-in at their office. We arrived after hours so we checked-in at the hotel's desk, but Norwegian had a packet with all our vouchers, special offers and all sorts of helpful information ready for us there. This was very nice on check-out as well as they also transported our bags to the ship for us so that we did not have to worry about them while we spent the day exploring more of Honolulu. The price of booking through Norwegian was comparable to booking through the Hyatt web site. Well worth it.

Valet service for our rental car was very good. The attendants were very helpful with directions and where we might find certain items in stores, etc. We would call for the car from our room and it was always ready for us when we arrived down stairs. The hotel lobby is really beautiful with lots of lush plants. There are many shops and coffee spots open through out the ground floor. The hotel mall leads out to exterior walkways including out to the main street to Waikiki Beach. Restaurants are along the streets outside which we did not try. There are two convenience stores in the building.

Our room was clean and adequate. It is a bit dated and could use some work. We had trouble with our safe (the battery was out) which took much longer than I would ever have thought to have fixed. We had a balcony with a partial view of the shore and a full view of the hotels across the street. It was still nice to sit and have my morning coffee as Honolulu woke up! It is Hawaii after all!

Nice shower pressure, beds were comfortable. We would stay here again. Good value for the money.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better chance for a view of the beach
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingTexasGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Aloha TravelingTexasGal,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and truly appreciate the kind remarks for our valet team and shops. We are refreshing the guestrooms and hope that you will visit again in the future and find you like the new rooms. We will share your comments regarding the time it took to service the safe with our Engineering Department.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews