We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,138)
Filter reviews
6,138 results
Traveler rating
2,738
2,157
803
260
180
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,738
2,157
803
260
180
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ewa tower across the street shor restaurant swim bar farmers market ocean view the diamond head tower the duke statue breakfast buffet resort fee large hotel waikiki resort beach chairs pool staff third floor our honeymoon lots of shops
Filter
Updating list...
2,657 - 2,662 of 6,138 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We chose this hotel because it was one offered as an early add on with our Norwegian Cruise around the islands. Norwegian has an office in the hotel lobby. If you arrive during their office hours and you booked through them, you can check-in at their office. We arrived after hours so we checked-in at the hotel's desk, but Norwegian had a packet with all our vouchers, special offers and all sorts of helpful information ready for us there. This was very nice on check-out as well as they also transported our bags to the ship for us so that we did not have to worry about them while we spent the day exploring more of Honolulu. The price of booking through Norwegian was comparable to booking through the Hyatt web site. Well worth it.

Valet service for our rental car was very good. The attendants were very helpful with directions and where we might find certain items in stores, etc. We would call for the car from our room and it was always ready for us when we arrived down stairs. The hotel lobby is really beautiful with lots of lush plants. There are many shops and coffee spots open through out the ground floor. The hotel mall leads out to exterior walkways including out to the main street to Waikiki Beach. Restaurants are along the streets outside which we did not try. There are two convenience stores in the building.

Our room was clean and adequate. It is a bit dated and could use some work. We had trouble with our safe (the battery was out) which took much longer than I would ever have thought to have fixed. We had a balcony with a partial view of the shore and a full view of the hotels across the street. It was still nice to sit and have my morning coffee as Honolulu woke up! It is Hawaii after all!

Nice shower pressure, beds were comfortable. We would stay here again. Good value for the money.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better chance for a view of the beach
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingTexasGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Aloha TravelingTexasGal,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and truly appreciate the kind remarks for our valet team and shops. We are refreshing the guestrooms and hope that you will visit again in the future and find you like the new rooms. We will share your comments regarding the time it took to service the safe with our Engineering Department.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Our family of four (children under 12) stayed at the upper floors (but not at the club level) with an ocean view room. The double beds fits the kids fine, but a bit tight for the adults. However, this was expected. The room was big and could fit a roll away easily if one was needed. I think they also have connecting rooms available based upon what my room looked like (with what appeared to be a connecting door), but please check with the hotel. Please note that there are several levels of "ocean view room", some have better views than others - but you will not have a complete "ocean view" unless you have an "ocean front room". The hotel has a fantastic location of being across the street from Waikiki Beach. The staff at the hotel was very friendly with the exception of the first guy I encountered when I tried to check-in at 12:30. He looked down the whole time during the process and told me (while looking down and typing furiously) that normal check-in was at 3 p.m. He was not busy at all (no one was in line) and at least he should have given me a smile and made eye contact while he was giving me the bad (but expected) news. He also tried to give us a smoking room, which was a big "no-no" since we have kids. It seems that he lacked training and/or experience. Our package included breakfast buffet for two adults. The kids could have the same buffet for $14.50 each. I don't know why others think the buffet was catered to Japanese tourists. Yes, they have miso soup, rice, and preserved vegetables, but they also have scrambled eggs, sausages, bacons, potatoes, fried rice, fried noodles, fruits, bagels, etc. for those who were not into rice and miso soup. They have an omelets bar that could cook to order omelets as well as fried eggs. Our family frequented the pool (on the small side, but there is a whole ocean just across the street), the SWIM bar, SHOR restaurant, and JAPENGO restaurant. Happy Hour at the SWIM bar was the best with some drinks at half price (mai tais were $5 each). SHOR restaurant's food was fantastic for its price. The fresh fish and the grass fed (Big Island grown) filet mignon were tasty. The wait staff at SHOR offered great dining advice and the kid's meal (steak or fish) was great at $10. My wife and I were not as impressed with Japengo's food as compared to SHOR. The kid's meal at Japengo also costs more and served less food (both quality and quantity) than SHOR. The two bottles of water in the room and the slow, but adequate Internet, were "free" (part of the resort fee). The pool staff provided towels for the beach and the pool, so don't use your room towels. The hotel also rents beach chairs and other items. There was an ABC store (same as 7-11 or Circle K) on the premises as well as other larger ABC stores all around Waikiki for your needs. On Tuesdays, the hotel has someone play Hawaiian music with hula dancers at the pool during Happy Hour. There were other live music at the pool area after 5 p.m. On Fridays, the hotel has a free Hawaiian cultural show starting around 4:30 ending with fire dance at 5:45 ish. Of course, Tuesdays and Thursdays were farmers market days. The hotel is going through some renovations so check with them. We stayed at the tower that was not being renovated, but was told by the same young man mentioned above (the non-eye-contact person) that we should not hear the noise so who knows if it is true. In addition to the dining at SHOR and JAPENGO, we also dined at House Without A Key (dinner), musubi at Iyasume (2 mins walk from the hotel), tea at Moana Surfrider (across the street), udon at Marukame Udon (go early), and tonkatsu at Tonkatsu Ginza Birin. Those places were all good. You can see their reviews at this website or others. We also went to Hauama Bay - Bus 22's stop is across the street from the hotel next to the Duke's statute (the park is closed on Tuesdays) or hop on one of the "roaming taxi vans" that will take you there for $6 a person. BTW, the trolley for the Pink Line to Ala Moana Center is also across the street from the hotel. Overall, the location, the room size, the fantastic food, and the even better staff (with the one exception) make this a place to stay. We plan to be a repeat visitor of this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank baseballfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Aloha baseballfreak,

Thank you for providing your feedback from your stay. We are happy that you had such a wonderful visit and are happy to share that the double bed issue is being resolved with the remodel. All guestrooms will now have either a king or double queen beds. Regarding the connecting room, may be referring to the Family Suite which may be something to look at when you plan your next visit. We do regret the service you received upon your arrival at the hotel and have shared your comments with our Front Desk supervisor. Unfortunately, your post does not provide a name of the associate but the guest welcome you describe is not how we normally operate and we are sorry this occurred. The supervisor will share the post with all associates as a reminder in daily shift changes.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Arrived from London at 9.00 pm. They gave us a lais - which was lovely. I had requested a high floor but they said they didn't have one . Our was on the 5 th floor ewa tower. No problems with noise and the view was amazing - pool one way and sea the other .
Breakfast was great - my favourite was the omelette station with extra salsa!! And the small little power shot drink- beetroot and ginger a favourite. loads of fresh fruit . staff really helpful .
We weren't given any info about beach towels or loan of beach chairs but I'd got all the info from trip adviser - made use if this from the 3 rd floor pool area - which was great .
Only gripe is the total lack of shade around pool area - and inability of staff to try to accommodate - was directed to the bar to wait !!
Checkout was seamless and by joining the Hyatt club we got half price resort fee - brilliant . Perfect location for all the shops and restaurants.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank jasjam98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Aloha jasjam98,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are thankful for all the kind remarks for the SHOR breakfast. The juices were designed by one of our associates at Japengo and we are certain she will be pleased when she reads your post. We are sorry that you were not happy with the service you received at the pool. We have shared your comments and are looking at alternative options for guests seeking more shade.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Great hotel. Awesome location. Friendly staff. Only a couple of things they could improve on.
We asked for an early check in as we have an infant and it wasn't guaranteed we could get one. We ended up having to paying for an early check in when we arrived.
The hotel could improve on their security. There is no need to use your card to access your floor so any one can get the lift up to your room. There are only certain rooms that require a card access. Which I find strange. It should be all rooms.
Getting a seat at the pool is a challenge. As we needed an umbrella for our baby. So there was a few times we had to just hang around till one become available. People were putting Their towels on the chairs to reserve them and would leave the pool to get lunch and come back.
The rooms are nice and clean. A little out dated but that didn't bother us.
Lastly the breakfast is very nice but mostly catered for the Japanese. There isant any of your traditional American style choices. They have a whole area set up for the Japanese tourists. But not much choice for the other tourists.
Overall we did enjoy our time here and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christosandsophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Aloha Christosandsophie ,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed our location and services. We have noted your concerns regarding early check-in, shade availability at the pool, and security. We can assure you that we have an experienced team of security professionals on property. All of them are working both in the public areas and watching from behind the scenes as well. We do regret that you did not feel more comfortable with the access to the floors and will certainly share these and all of your comments with our team.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Arrived in the morning and we are greeted by a lovely lady on reception and we thought this is going to be a lovely place to stay.

We had a ocean view room that half looked at the ocean the other half was the hotel across the road. It was near the pool and the people that decide to take their children swimming at 6.00am should think about others. Also noise from the road started at about 6.00am and slowly died down by about 11.00pm.The rooms are so out-dated that they really need to be upgraded.

Out of the 12 nights we were there our room was not serviced 3 times. Once was when the Hurricane was to hit which we were aware of and the others we had to tell them when we arrived back that it had not been serviced. It was then arranged by the front desk. They seemed to only change the sheets (which twice had holes in them) and towels when they did service the rooms as all the furniture had a large collection of dust on it. Our daughter with her finger drew clean me on the unit the T.V stood on it was still there when we left.

As to eating in the hotel after the first breakfast there we only ate there when we had to. we thought it would be lovely to sit outside when they gave us the table, omg, the birds ! They are like vultures out there, they walk around on the tables all over the utensils and the staff do nothing. You can not leave your food on the table to go and get something as they are straight into it. We had to rescue several other peoples plates as the staff did nothing.

The pool is so small for the amount of rooms there. we did try several afternoons to come back after the beach and have a quick swim, it was just so crowded it was near impossible.

They did have lovely farmers markets twice a week that where lovely and the entertainment that they had was good.

Would we stay here again, no better value and better service elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms as high up as you can, we did but they said all occupied, but many other people came in after us and were given rooms up there. If you eat there ask for a table inside.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank centralcoastie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Aloha centralcoastie1960 ,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are sorry to read about your experiences with the housekeeping, dining, and the noise at the pool. While the pool is not open until 7:30 a.m. we have reached out to the supervisors of housekeeping and food and beverage. In each instance we have been informed that follow up training will be conducted with staff to ensure similar situations do not happen in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews