We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,097)
Filter reviews
6,097 results
Traveler rating
2,711
2,148
798
261
179
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,711
2,148
798
261
179
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsewa toweracross the streetshor restaurantswim barfarmers marketocean viewthe diamond head towerthe duke statuebreakfast buffetresort feelarge hotelwaikiki resortbeach chairspool staffthird floorour honeymoonlots of shops
Filter
Updating list...
2,626 - 2,631 of 6,097 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Arrived from London at 9.00 pm. They gave us a lais - which was lovely. I had requested a high floor but they said they didn't have one . Our was on the 5 th floor ewa tower. No problems with noise and the view was amazing - pool one way and sea the other .
Breakfast was great - my favourite was the omelette station with extra salsa!! And the small little power shot drink- beetroot and ginger a favourite. loads of fresh fruit . staff really helpful .
We weren't given any info about beach towels or loan of beach chairs but I'd got all the info from trip adviser - made use if this from the 3 rd floor pool area - which was great .
Only gripe is the total lack of shade around pool area - and inability of staff to try to accommodate - was directed to the bar to wait !!
Checkout was seamless and by joining the Hyatt club we got half price resort fee - brilliant . Perfect location for all the shops and restaurants.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank jasjam98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Aloha jasjam98,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are thankful for all the kind remarks for the SHOR breakfast. The juices were designed by one of our associates at Japengo and we are certain she will be pleased when she reads your post. We are sorry that you were not happy with the service you received at the pool. We have shared your comments and are looking at alternative options for guests seeking more shade.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Great hotel. Awesome location. Friendly staff. Only a couple of things they could improve on.
We asked for an early check in as we have an infant and it wasn't guaranteed we could get one. We ended up having to paying for an early check in when we arrived.
The hotel could improve on their security. There is no need to use your card to access your floor so any one can get the lift up to your room. There are only certain rooms that require a card access. Which I find strange. It should be all rooms.
Getting a seat at the pool is a challenge. As we needed an umbrella for our baby. So there was a few times we had to just hang around till one become available. People were putting Their towels on the chairs to reserve them and would leave the pool to get lunch and come back.
The rooms are nice and clean. A little out dated but that didn't bother us.
Lastly the breakfast is very nice but mostly catered for the Japanese. There isant any of your traditional American style choices. They have a whole area set up for the Japanese tourists. But not much choice for the other tourists.
Overall we did enjoy our time here and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christosandsophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Aloha Christosandsophie ,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed our location and services. We have noted your concerns regarding early check-in, shade availability at the pool, and security. We can assure you that we have an experienced team of security professionals on property. All of them are working both in the public areas and watching from behind the scenes as well. We do regret that you did not feel more comfortable with the access to the floors and will certainly share these and all of your comments with our team.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Arrived in the morning and we are greeted by a lovely lady on reception and we thought this is going to be a lovely place to stay.

We had a ocean view room that half looked at the ocean the other half was the hotel across the road. It was near the pool and the people that decide to take their children swimming at 6.00am should think about others. Also noise from the road started at about 6.00am and slowly died down by about 11.00pm.The rooms are so out-dated that they really need to be upgraded.

Out of the 12 nights we were there our room was not serviced 3 times. Once was when the Hurricane was to hit which we were aware of and the others we had to tell them when we arrived back that it had not been serviced. It was then arranged by the front desk. They seemed to only change the sheets (which twice had holes in them) and towels when they did service the rooms as all the furniture had a large collection of dust on it. Our daughter with her finger drew clean me on the unit the T.V stood on it was still there when we left.

As to eating in the hotel after the first breakfast there we only ate there when we had to. we thought it would be lovely to sit outside when they gave us the table, omg, the birds ! They are like vultures out there, they walk around on the tables all over the utensils and the staff do nothing. You can not leave your food on the table to go and get something as they are straight into it. We had to rescue several other peoples plates as the staff did nothing.

The pool is so small for the amount of rooms there. we did try several afternoons to come back after the beach and have a quick swim, it was just so crowded it was near impossible.

They did have lovely farmers markets twice a week that where lovely and the entertainment that they had was good.

Would we stay here again, no better value and better service elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms as high up as you can, we did but they said all occupied, but many other people came in after us and were given rooms up there. If you eat there ask for a table inside.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank centralcoastie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Aloha centralcoastie1960 ,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are sorry to read about your experiences with the housekeeping, dining, and the noise at the pool. While the pool is not open until 7:30 a.m. we have reached out to the supervisors of housekeeping and food and beverage. In each instance we have been informed that follow up training will be conducted with staff to ensure similar situations do not happen in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Good:
Great shopping on the ground floor.
Decent gym.
Awesome location.
Pool bar was nice.

Bad:
The elevators are extremely slow. I stayed on the 27th floor. It took about 10 minutes to get up and down each day depending on the time. Also, they are not air conditioned, so prepare to sweat and smell the people crowded around you. I almost threw up a few times. I give this place a 3 for the elevators alone.

We would only get 3 fresh towels every day. I had to ask for new towels probably 5 times in a 12 day period. Annoying.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Aloha Chris B,

Thank you for sharing a review from your stay. We regret that your elevator rides were uncomfortable and slow. We do have many rooms and rides may include multiple stops however 10 minutes does require further investigation so we have shared your comments with our Engineering Department. We are also sorry that your requests for additional towels were not met and we have shared your comments with our Housekeeping supervisor to review further.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Loved the hotel - great spacious modern rooms, hotel was less than 2 mins from the beach and surrounded by shops. Staff were friendly and helpful can't fault this hotel in any way. Doesn't have the feel of a hotel as it's very spread out but that doesn't bring any fault to the hotel. Nearby zoo in walking distance and plenty of frozen yoghurt places to eat! Great place for a night time walk as it gets very busy with stalls and entertainment for tourists!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Aloha Richard ,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are pleased to read that you had such a wonderful stay. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews