We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Being a high rise apartments it was a put off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Very close to everything eating out was great 3 occasions with in their restaurants the food was very good although for breakfast catering was more for the Japanese rather than for an Aussie like me I asked for vegemite and they didn't know what I was asking for a very poor showing on the breakfast menu to the Hyatt in Maui they catered for a broad range of people. Although they were great at booking any trips we ventured on on a daily basis

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate you bringing the situation in the breakfast area to our attention. We do make every effort to provide for our guests from all areas of the world and vegemite has been a part of our buffet for some time. You have definitely raised a concern for us that is being looked into by our food and beverage management team. Additional follow up will be made with all associates to avoid any future confusion.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,447)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,232 - 2,238 of 5,447 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Booked hotel through expedia at Sheraton Princess across the street from Hyatt Regency Spa and Resort. Sheraton and Expedia both failed to advise me the hotel was under renovation. And I think I know why. Well our room on the tenth floor was full of termites and AC was like from the 70's. We decided to move to another hotel, and pick Hyatt Regency. Front desk manager held the room for us while we got out of the hell hole Sheraton. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay in Hyatt. Pool and valet staff was great and front desk manager Francis was extremely professional and helpful. Great customer service!!!I There is a huges fresh food market on Thursdays and three floors of shopping area inside the hotel. It is located right in front of the big statute Duke.
"Mahalo" for saving our trip!!! Cannot wait to come back!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank luckygirl1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are honored that you selected us and we are glad that we were able to provide you with the comfort and amenities that made your visit to Oahu so special. We've made sure to share your compliments of our staff and their supervisors. We look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I really enjoyed our stay at the Hyatt Regency, great location across from a crowded Waikiki Beach, close to shopping, restaurants, 2 ABC stores on site, loads of shops within the complex, great pool area which is quiet after a busy morning on the beach. Happy Hour from 4 - 6pm but if you join the Hyatt Club it is 4 - 7pm. We were upgraded on our return from Maui to an Ocean front room which was lovely on the 7th floor. The rooms were spacious enough with a nice lanai (balcony) to sit and watch the surfers and stand up paddle boarders out on Waikiki waves. The staff were wonderful nothing was a drama, all very helpful and friendly. They have markets there on a Thursday 4pm - 8pm where locals sell lots of goodies, fresh fruit and veges as well as cooked products, very interesting and tasty. If you go to the pool area they will supply you with beach towels,(although not proper beach towels) and also great beach chairs. We purchased an umbrella from the ABC store for $18 which did the trick for our 10 night stay and we brought it home as hand luggage on our Hawaiian Airlines flight. We will definitely be back to stay at the Hyatt Regency Waikiki

Room Tip: We were in the Diamond Head Tower 1st stay 10th floor with a partial ocean view which was beautiful...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kez234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for the kind remarks. We are glad that you had such a wonderful stay. We would note that when you return you may want to consider a new partnership we have with the Star Beach Boys on the beach. You can rent an umbrella, take surfing lessons, outrigger canoe, etc at special Hyatt prices.

We look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Our family of 6 stayed at the Hyatt for two days before departing on a Hawaiian cruise. The rooms were "okay". Our bed was not very comfortable. We booked two rooms. My mother's room only had one lamp that worked. We did not use the swimming pool or eat at any of the restaurants at the hotel. We tried to find "cheaper" restaurants on the main street. My teenagers loved this location (and I did as well) because you walked right across the street and you were at the beach where you could rent paddleboards, lounge chairs, etc... Since "food" and "eating out" is so expensive in Hawaii, we liked this hotel because we could eat a salad or grab a quick breakfast at the McDonald's few steps away. This hotel was also right in the middle of some of the best shopping that I saw in Waikiki. Check-in was easy and I noticed a kiosk at the front desk where you could print your own boarding passes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovevacations00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed the location and convenience of our hotel. We do regret the issues with the room. We hope that you made a comment to staff while you were on property and that they were able to assist you. In regards to food, we also recommend guests try the Thursday Farmers Market near our waterfall. There are dozens of vendors who sell Hawaiian fruits, vegetables, plate lunches, and more at market prices. If you should return to Waikiki, we hope you will have an opportunity to experience it.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

First Time to Waikiki. The Hyatt is a beautiful property. The staff is great. Had a room on the 36th floor and the views were amazing. The 2 restaurants were very good. The 2 knocks are very very over priced for everything, but I understand its a tourist location and the key cards for the rooms are very bad. If you keep your key in your pocket next to a credit card the key won't work. I had to get a new key about 15 times. But besides that great Hotel and great location. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that overall you had a wonderful visit. We do regret you had any issues with the key cards. We will be certain to share your experience with the appropriate managers. We hope you will return again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Had a nice stay at the Hyatt in Waikiki. Rooms are large (as compared to other properties around Waikiki) with furnished balconies. The view of Waikiki is very nice.

Stayed on Memorial Day weekend and the place was jammed. Despite some longer than usual front desk waits, everything else seemed pretty on par with expectations (valet, pool service, etc). The hotel is across from the main public part of Waikiki so you can just check out towels and chairs (handy) and haul them across the street.

The pool is small (like most of the Waikiki hotels save Halekulani) but more than decent for lounging around.

We did use the on site spa for some massages. Despite not being "deep tissue" style, they were pretty strong and did a great job.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ex-expats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your visit and the services provided by our valet, pool, and spa teams. We've shared your comments with all of our associates. We do regret the wait at check in and will also share you comments with our front desk manager.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

After a week on Maui, we thought we would spend a night in Honolulu, see Pearl Harbor, etc. before our overnight flight back to the mainland.

I guess I thought Waikiki would be touristy, but it turned out to be more like Las Vegas with a beach (without the gambling). The Hyatt is a extremely high volume property that caters to this environment. The hotel has the decor and feel of other Hyatt resort properties although it is a little dated. If you are planning to drive there, make sure you get good directions to the entrance of the property as Garmin doesn't have it figured out (lots of one way streets). Also, valet parking is $36.

Check in was a pain. The lobby was overrun. We arrived a little before 2:00 and our rooms were not ready but the did check us in and told us to return at 3:00 because our rooms were "guaranteed" to be ready at 3:00. The "guarantee" was offered, unsolicited. Well, our rooms weren't ready at 3:00 (big surprise) and we had to wait a while longer.

The rooms were pretty typical for an older Hyatt. The pool area was very small. Again, the property had a feeling of being overrun with tourists and tour groups. The immediate vicinity has tons of high end shopping and restaurants and the sidewalks are mobbed. Waikiki beach is right across the street and it was jammed with people. Unfortunately, there are also a tremendous number of homeless, mentally ill, etc. all over the vicinity as the State of Hawaii doesn't seem to make it a priority to help these people.

Finally, I had two rooms reserved using points and received a bill just for the valet charges at check-out. Unfortunately, two separate charges for almost $200 hit my credit card in addition to the valet. I contacted the Hyatt and they acknowledged the mistake and said the would credit these charges.

Can't say I will ever return to this property/area. It just doesn't provide the Aloha experience I am looking for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Colocav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We value all comments and have shared your check-in and check-out experiences with our front desk supervisor for additional review. Honolulu is the state capitol and Oahu itself is known as the Gathering Place. It truly is a global destination and is not like the other islands. All the islands are actually quite unique and we are glad to read that you had such a wonderful time at one of our sister properties on Maui. We hope that you will return to the islands again in the future and continue to choose Hyatt no matter where you go.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
242 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,457 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $262 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all the excitement of Waikiki from one incredible location. Steps from the azure blue waters and soft sands of Waikiki Beach, Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa offers magnificent personalized services and luxurious amenities including world-class dining, award-winning spa, interactive cultural activities, 24-hour fitness center, swimming pool overlooking the Pacific Ocean, and more than 60 on-site boutiques. The resort provides the perfect place for those who want to make the most of their island experience and connect with the heart of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing