We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,098)
Filter reviews
6,098 results
Traveler rating
2,712
2,148
798
261
179
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,712
2,148
798
261
179
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsewa toweracross the streetshor restaurantswim barfarmers marketocean viewthe diamond head towerthe duke statuebreakfast buffetresort feelarge hotelwaikiki resortbeach chairspool staffthird floorour honeymoonlots of shops
Filter
Updating list...
2,850 - 2,855 of 6,098 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We booked the Hyatt place down the blocks, they were over booked when we arrived. We were upgraded to the Regency for no extra charge. Everything was great. This is more a classic hotel compares to the Hyatt place which is more modern design. The room we stayed at was facing the street, during our stay they had construction work going on, the balcony was locked. So get a room away from that side if you can. But room was nicely kept and clean, the stuff were all friendly. They have activities every day of the week. During our stay, they have farmer's market on the ground floor, a lot of good local stuff to eat and buy. The hotel is right in middle of Waikik beach, everything is in walkable distance. The breakfast is kind of limited for it's price from a 4 stars hotel. If you are paying for breakfast here, I would suggest you to try the omelette a block away. Since we got it for free, I can't really complaint too much. If you go early, we can get a nice spot right in front of the beach and enjoy your morning coffee.

Room Tip: As always get higher floors and ocean side room if possible. Over night parking here is way too expensive(over $30). You can find some Public parking for around $16, it's only one or two blocks from here.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winglik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We value your comments and will share your remarks regarding the food selection at breakfast. Our team is currently looking at making some changes and we are sure they will appreciate your input.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Internet connection is a disaster. If you need it, choose another hotel. Take an oceanfront room. Otherwise this hotel doesn't make any sense ;) We've payed only for balcony overlooking the ocean. Breakfast is average, the only thing you can eat - fried eggs, the rest is just sweet food and asian style cooking - rice/pasta even soup - all is for guests from Japan / China, the hotel seems to be occupied mostly by Japanese people ;) Nothing wrong with it, just there should be some choice in food for others too.
Overal is ok, if you spend most of time outdoors anyway and just enjoying your view from balcony on morning/evening. Despite the fact we have paid all stay in advance there was an everyday fee (resort fee) 26$ per day!!! that we could not understand as we've paid already rooms and all taxes. Beware.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annaKGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for providing your feedback from your recent stay. We are sorry that you were not more satisfied with your visit. We have shared your comments regarding the Wi-Fi, breakfast, and resort fees with our management team. We do hope that you spoke to a manager while on property and that some resolution was made before your departure.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights and loved it. Our room was upgraded upon arrival to the 39th floor. The room was large with 2 queen beds, a couch, desk, lovely balcony and a large bathroom. Housekeeping was fantastic - even if we only popped down to the gym for 45 minutes, the room was finished by the time we returned. The gym is great with fantastic facilities. The pool area was busy but we always managed to get lounges. The breakfast buffet is delicious! And the location is EVERYTHING! The hotel is in a fantastic location opposite the beach, right outside is a main bus stop and there are restaurants and shops at your doorstep! Would definately stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 39th floor and the view was incredible! No troubles with noise either!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable visit. We will be sure to share all of your comments with our team. We hope that you will visit again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is a huge hotel. It is very clean. The staff is excellent, they respond as well as they can. The hotel needs work. The bathroom in particular. Our air conditioning worked poorly and they put a fan in our room. The selection at the breakfast buffet was limited. However the view from our room was outstanding.
They have a farmers market once a week in the hotel that just does not seem to go with the class of hotel they are trying to portray. They have a sign in the room that says to seal food so not to attract bugs. If they need to place a sign in the room citing this problem, you know the problem must be big. The location is outstanding. It is within walking distance of The Honolulu Zoo and great shopping. We would have loved a view of Diamond Head but were told our room was upgraded to deluxe ocean view and no others were available. It was nice, however we would probably try another hotel in Waikiki on our next visit.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank HarryHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for providing your feedback. We value your comments and have shared them with our teams. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit more and will discuss your comments with our associates and use them to make the guest experience better for others.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed 3 nights at the Hyatt Waikiki, Dec. 30 - Jan 3 with Perillo tours Hawaii. Lovely room, gorgeous lobby, friendly service for the most part. Helpful concierge. Small pool.
Great snacks and drinks at Swim. Last minute buffet on New Year's eve was not so great. Service was bad, Food items on buffet ran out often. Seemed very disorganized. Did not get to Japengo, but that was Perillo's fault, I believe.

Room Tip: Our room in Ewi tower was supposed to be deluxe ocean view, but looked straight at another hotel. diamond tower rooms seem to have better ocean views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firstnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your visit. We are sorry to read about the New Years Eve issues at the buffet. We have shared your comments with the Director of Food and Beverage for follow up with the team at SWIM. We hope that you will consider visiting us again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews