We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for Thanksgiving week and I hve to say that the service here is wonderful. We have never stayed in Waikiki before, since I am originally from Oahu, but lived on the windward side of the island. So this was a touristy trip for us, and I must say that Waikiki is quite a different experience than the true Hawaii, since it is so crowded, but we were expecting that.
We got a great deal that included buffet breakfast every morning (so good) as well as a free dinner at their Japengo restaurant (excellent!), and an upgrade to the ocean view room.
Everyone who works at this Hyatt is friendly, helpful, and accommodating. I'm so glad we stayed here and am thankful to all the employees who made us feel welcome, making our stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gg369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are glad that your visit to Waikiki was special. We have shared all of your comments with our staff. We hope you will visit again in the future.

mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,153
    1,827
    676
    219
    147
See reviews for
1,609
1,990
187
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,089)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

I choose the Hyatt Regency because of its name. The hotel had not been update. If you just want to pay for location, then choose this hotel. They need to lower there prices to $100.00 a night until they renovate this property. I was very disappointed on what I paid and what I received. If you want nice accommodations then stay away from this property.

Room Tip: Oceanside rooms have a great view. This was the best thing about this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We will certainly share your comments regarding the value of your stay with our management team.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda Heights, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We visited Waikiki this past Thanksgiving Holiday week and had a wonderful pleasant stay at this Hyatt Regency Waikiki. Initially we didn't get the full ocean front view room as we wished from our ocean front view booking. However thanks to the excellent help and services from Jenny (Lobby Front Desk) to Hannah, the VIP Manager, who helped our family to move a full ocean front view room once one was available. The VIP Manager was extremely caring to constantly checking on us and trying to do everything she could to make sure our families did have a wonderful stay. We stayed at the Hyatt Regency Waikiki two years ago and so glad we did come back this time to spend our family vacation at this same wonderful Hyatt Regency Waikiki, instead of staying at the Hilton Hawaiian Village like we originally planned to. We can't wait to come back to visit Waikiki and stay this same Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort next year again. Again many sincere thanks to the Hyatt staffs from Front Desk to the house keeping staffs, to the Regency Lounge staffs and definitely not to exclude the super nice and caring Hannah, VIP Manager.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed the services and have shared your comments with all of our staff. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency Waikiki November 19 until December 03. Location of the property is outstanding, it's in the middle of everything on Waikiki. This is our 10th stay in Waikiki at various hotels and we agreed that it was the best.

We really enjoyed the property, had a great room with a lanai overlooking Kuhio Beach across from the Duke Statue. The room was listed as a deluxe ocean view and was well worth the extra $$. A huge savings was the breakfast buffet every morning...a BIG plus.

The buffet was very good and was served until 11am. After the first few days the staff knew you by name and were very efficient and extremely accommodating. Everyone at the Shor Restaurant was exceptional!

Can't say enough about the entire Hyatt staff they went out their way to help out from the check in basket and personalized welcome card to housekeeping leaving extra coffee packets and water when they saw you were using more. All of our requests that had been emailed weeks prior were met. Very well done.

I have read comments regarding the age of the property, yes it is an older property, however it is well maintained and very clean. We had no complaints about the age of the overall property or our room.

We only had one issue and that was the internet WIFI. No matter where you were on the property you would drop your signal every 2-3 minutes and have to sign on all over again...but then again you are in Hawaii why are you on the internet!

Would highly rate our stay and will certainly return!

Aloha and Mahalo

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review the property. We will make sure our associates, especially those in SHOR Restaurant, read your review. We regret the issues you had with the Wi Fi and are working to improve this service. We value your comments and we look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Pretty much the room we requested was an ocean view king bed....ocean view with 2 doubles... nothing could be done etc until 5 nights in so we enjoyed the 2 beds as much as possible :p. When we moved to our new room it was perfect..... apart from the fact that when we left to head out for dinner i shut the rooms door and noticed no sound.... the electronic door was broken and didnt work... so anyone could come in and out as they pleased. Another lame excuse was provided. To top it off we paid for parking and on more than one occassion the drop off boys forgot our car making us wait for close to 20mins. Overall this Resort / hotel is lovely but small things like this is why we are trying another hotel in a few months time.

Room Tip: Pay abit more for the ocean view... its amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieAceCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback from your stay. We do regret that you were not satisfied with your visit or your rooms. The security of our guests is a high priority for us so we've made sure to follow up with any department you may have called to review both the door issue you described as well as the response you were given. We have also shared your comments with the valet manager for further discussion and review.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Right on Waikiki beach. Beautiful room with views. Service is great. Concierge was extremely helpful. Walking distance to shops, restaurants and spas. Great running trail that goes all the way up to Diamond Head.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your visit. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallda, Sweden
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

The Hyatt is nicely situated across the road from the beach. Not perfect as some other hotels close by, but you can get ocean view with this hotel. I liked the cortyard with waterfall and the restaurant and pool area. For a resort the pool is tiny though, but the fitness center is one of the largest i have seen. If you are a Hyatt gold passport member, they give you a discount on the resort fee. The prices for eating and drinking at this resort are ridiculously high. Breakfast buffe costed 29USD a person (buffe is half price for kids)! However if you go to Hawaii, be prepared that the prices are very high. Look for package deals where breakfast is included. All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Hyatt and Oahu is fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are glad to read that overall you enjoyed your visit. We will share your comments regarding breakfast prices with our food and beverage team for further review and discussion.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,101 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Oahu in one of Hawaii's most fashionable zip codes. Just steps from renowned warm waters and spectacular views of Waikiki Beach, the property features newly remodeled guest rooms, an award-winning spa, retail shopping, cultural activities and cuisine from celebrated chefs. Close to Honolulu's most visited attractions, including the USS Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor, Iolani Palace and Diamond Head Crater, the hotel is the ideal solution for those who want it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing