We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in a fascinating area!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vallda, Sweden
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a fascinating area!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

The Hyatt is nicely situated across the road from the beach. Not perfect as some other hotels close by, but you can get ocean view with this hotel. I liked the cortyard with waterfall and the restaurant and pool area. For a resort the pool is tiny though, but the fitness center is one of the largest i have seen. If you are a Hyatt gold passport member, they give you a discount on the resort fee. The prices for eating and drinking at this resort are ridiculously high. Breakfast buffe costed 29USD a person (buffe is half price for kids)! However if you go to Hawaii, be prepared that the prices are very high. Look for package deals where breakfast is included. All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Hyatt and Oahu is fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are glad to read that overall you enjoyed your visit. We will share your comments regarding breakfast prices with our food and beverage team for further review and discussion.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,251
    1,870
    690
    223
    152
See reviews for
1,667
2,056
197
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The hotel itself is close to the beach however the beach is shared to the public (super crowded and bums lying outside). Was disappointed with experience since we came from hyatt's new hotel Andaz Maui. Room Service slow. Ordered champagne for honeymoon and we were put on hold to take our order then waited 30+ mins to have it delivered. Just caught a huge roach in our room :-/. The bed is comfy and the maid is nice. The mall where the hotel is located is kinda empty versus across the street in Sheraton and Westin.

Room Tip: Ocean view top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airgrimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback from your visit. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We have followed up with both guest services and the food and beverage team. The latter will address the comment about the your wait for In Room Dining and conduct additional training if needed.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
147 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The hotel is huge, right on the Wikki beach. The breakfast was awesome. The location is the best part of all. The hotel itself is old. The facility seems old. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall, I think we paid for the location. We stayed in the room with a partial ocean view looking at the beach, which is worth of paying for. It is very convenient to all shopping places and restaurants..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, especially our central location. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Right lets get this out of way first: The comments regarding the hotel is "tired and out dated", "the rooms are old & need a major refurb". Seriously people get a life you are not spending 24/7 in your room, well I know we didn't & why would you when there is so much to see & do. This place is great it is handy to everything. A good place to base yourself if you are walking. The staff here are just amazing and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble. I would like to say a big thank you to: Josie (our housekeeper), Eric & Bryan (Greeted us at breakfast most mornings). The buffet breakfasts are good. Our room was on 21st floor and had an awesome view. The bed was comfortable and the room was cleaned on a daily basis. We had a welcome phone call from concierge telling us that if there was anything we needed they were only a phone call away. We were offered at check-in to upgrade to a full ocean view for an extra $25/day. It was worth it. Will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are spectacular. Our room 2158 faced the beach & Kalakaua Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisMick7268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed everything about your visit. We've shared your comments with all of our staff and we look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in March, the rooms were extremely clean, and in a fantastic location. For a hotel of this high standard the rooms could do with an upgrade, however the view makes up for it. We paid for a ocean view room which was a room on the side looking down the coast, however we were offered a FULL ocean view room which we paid the upgrade for and just soaked up every single wonderful moment.

The staff were all friendly and very helpful. We could not complain our stay was just excellent.

We can not wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therese H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments will be shared with our team. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The location of this hotel was perfect! Everything is nearby and there is a great beach across the street. We stored our paddle board with the valet and they always greeted us with a smile. Joijo at the front desk turned a small glitch into a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the kind remarks. We've made sure to pass your compliments along to both our valet and front desk teams.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My friend and I stayed for 8 nights at the Hyatt Regency Waikiki and I could not have wished for better accommodation. We arrived between 12-1pm and only had to wait about 5 minutes in a line to be served. While we were waiting we were welcomed and offered a bottle of water. We were then quickly checked in, didn't have to wait for the check in time which was fantastic.
We stayed in an Deluxe Ocean Front room on the 30th floor in the Ewa tower - absolutely amazing views and a quite room, minimal noise from the street, elevators or ice machine.

I would recommend paying for this type of room or an Ocean View and asking for an upgrade.
Walking past the room with the ice machine and waiting for the elevators - I could see why many other reviewers have commented about the noise - they were noisy! Definitely try and get a room away from these.

We also had included in our package a daily buffet breakfast. The first two days when we went to breakfast around 7-8am we encountered a long line, which did move kind of quickly. The other 6 days we walked straight in and were seated straight away (we went down for breakfast anywhere from 7.30 - 9am on those 6 days) so the breakfast line is a bit of a hit and miss.

I have dietary requirements and I informed my server and they went and got the chef and the chef came out and talked to me and walked around the buffet tables with me and informed me of what I could and couldn't eat, which I really appreciated. However, the breakfast menu changes ever so slightly day to day so I had to be careful on the days were new food was brought out. The servers at the breakfast buffet were very friendly and attentive. I drink soy milk so was informed that I just had to ask my server for soy milk.

All of the hotel staff that I encountered where friendly and often greeted you, which really helped to make the stay at the hotel more enjoyable. One exception to this was when we checked out, the lady on the desk was rather short and provided no "thanks for staying with us" or that type of thing.

This is just my experience with the hotel, and I would stay there again and would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to stay close to Waikiki beach.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators and ice machine. High floor level to get the best views of Waikiki and surr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahFRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad that you had such a great experience with the service at SHOR. We have shared your comments with all of the staff at the restaurant as well as the Front Desk manager who will further discuss your check out.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,251 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,854 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Oahu in one of Hawaii's most fashionable zip codes. Just steps from renowned warm waters and spectacular views of Waikiki Beach, the property features newly remodeled guest rooms, an award-winning spa, retail shopping, cultural activities and cuisine from celebrated chefs. Close to Honolulu's most visited attractions, including the USS Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor, Iolani Palace and Diamond Head Crater, the hotel is the ideal solution for those who want it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing