We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls' getaway weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I were fortunate enough to enjoy a couple of nights at the Hyatt Regency Waikiki during a quick girls' weekend trip to Oahu... and I can't wait til the next time I can stay at this wonderful hotel! Next time it will be with my husband though.

Arrival: We arrived in the morning, registered at the front desk, left our bags and car, and proceeded on a walking shopping spree down Kalakaua. (The hotel itself also has quite the array of shops galore and right next to the international marketplace!) Our bags were at the room when we came back to officially check in later. Throughout the stay we had the pleasure of meeting a few of the staff, but with the valet staff, a gentleman named Michael comes to mind as he was exceptionally helpful on our last day.

Registration: We came back after a long day to check in around 5pm or so... Not because the room wasn't ready but because we had stayed out longer than we had planned. A lovely front desk agent named Chrea (spelling?) checked us in. I also work in customer service, and I have to say, she is exceptional! She was professional, efficient, friendly and hospitable yet also got to connect with us on a personal level but without being too chatty or intrusive... That is a delicate balance to keep, and she did it wonderfully! She also asked for my friend's name (which came in handy later) so as to have us both properly registered to the room. I came down the next day to replace a key that wasn't working, and she remembered me by name even as I walked up to the counter. Amazing service.

And now the room. For starters, if you are thinking of reserving the regency club rooms, PLEASE DO! Or request for a high floor whenever possible. We had fantastic views of the Diamond head and Waikiki Beach from our room up on the 35th floor of the Diamond Head tower! We had requested two beds and we received a room with two double beds which were clean and VERY comfy and were always made by the time we got back. The warm toilet seat and bidet was a nice touch as well!

Amenities: It seems like we had all the amenities we could ask for in the room... even Q-tips and cotton balls in the bathroom... I know it seems so small, but being girls, we had packed even small things like these, and a flatiron, of course... Incidentally... They also offer to lend a flatiron/curling iron among other things. Now again, being girls, we forgot a few essentials at home such as... Our shaving kit. This was provided as well! We were thoroughly impressed by these seemingly little details that made our stay worry-free. (Good thinking, Hyatt)

The club lounge was easily accessible from our elevator, with a spacious area and good selection, with indoor and outdoor seating. For cocktails, note that they have a house selection for the bar, but it works for an evening drink as you start to relax. They offer a variety of drinks in the bars on property also, if that's your scene. Then of course, besides that, is the entire Waikiki area. The lounge got pretty full on Friday night but comfortable and not crowded.

Japengo: was such a great treat that We went there both nights! (Sorry Shor, I'll try you next time) We had the most pleasant server, Micah, on our first night - he definitely went above and beyond to ensure our evening was pleasant. We asked, and he happily gave us some good advice for us ladies wanting to have a nice laid-back Waikiki evening. On the first night, we shared the Szechuan eggplant, Scallops, Red dragon, and one more sushi roll I can't remember and they were all fantastic. The ahi in the rolls were very melt-in-your-mouth delicious, as in fresh.

Swim poolside lounge and its towel station: we always had lunch at the bar, and the bartender, I think his name was Kyle? And his partner whom we met the next day... Both were Very friendly and have been there together for 30+ years! Amazing. That tells me a lot about a property and its staff.

Also a quick note for Francis, a front desk manager, who was sympathetic and efficient in handling the small issue we had with our keys. (Maybe putting them next to our phones or credit cards wasn't really helping?) he also ensured that our stay went well. We were also able to use a hospitality room since it was available... And this helped a lot for two girls gone shopping crazy and in much need of reorganizing and re-packing before a late flight. Mahalo, sir.

All in all... We had a great time, came back relaxed and happy. The staff was wonderful and accommodating, the hotel itself comfortable and elegant.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank dejmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and to include specific names of staff you met during your visit. We are pleased to read that you and your friends enjoyed Waikiki and many of our hotel amenities and have shared your comments with our team. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,488 - 2,494 of 5,483 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

My brother & I made our last island visit before going back to Arizona & we chose Oahu & your hotel. The hotel is located in a great spot for downtown shops,restaurants & the beach. You couldn't ask for more. I was so impressed with my trip to Hawaii,I didn't want to leave. Aloha & Mahalo to you all for the nice visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for all of the kind remarks. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here early October 2013.We had a family of 5 great place to stay.We had a ocean view room which was fantastic veiws of waikiki.Excellent staff friendly courteous and polite.Had read views before i had left, there is always lots of negative,found the place to be very good.
The hyatt is in a great spot being central to all shops beach and facilities.The hotel is clean and functional ,ABC stalls below service all your needs.Bus stop across the road if required.
The Hyatt is older building but is clean throughout.Yes we would go back buffet breakfast was good also.My family would be happy to go back and stay again.Our stay was 10 nights which was a good amount of time.Weather also excellent everyday,with balmy nights.

Room Tip: Pay extra get a view of ocean and get a room away from lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and will consider staying with us again in the future. We will be certain to share your comments with our team.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Sarah from My Holiday Centre did a great job with arranging our package. No hidden costs, everything was laid out in the itinerary which has not been the case when booking with other agents. Everything was pretty seemless. We went to Kauai, Maui and then o'ahu

I did read another person's comment about the Hyatt at Waikiki which I do agree with in some respects. Our luggage took ages to get to us after we left this with the Porter. Major improvements needed with this area of the hotel. When we rang up to find out where our bags were because we wanted to get into our swimsuits we were told that we would just need to wait, not something my husband accepted!

The girl at reception was lovely and helpful though and made us feel special.

The double beds are more like king singles, definitely not enough room for two and we would have preferred a king but apparently they had none with the view we had booked. Shower in bath with shower curtains which I hate. If they cannot upgrade the bathrooms at least install shower screens rather than curtains. It was a disappointment after having been at the Grand Hyatt in Kauai which is absolutely magnificent. Although not dissimilar to the Hilton Hawaiian which we stayed at the last time we were in Waikiki only the Hilton has great pool areas and is right on the beach. A lot of the hotels in Waikiki need to be renovated into the 21st century! They are pretty similar in terms of rooms.

The buffet brekkie was rather ordinary at Hyatt Waikiki again especially compared to the Grand Hyatt in Kauai and the Hyatt in Maui but the hotel is very central. Buffet brekkies should have bacon every morning!

Room Tip: Get a deluxe ocean front for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherriee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We do regret that you were not more satisfied with your visit. We have noted the comments especially concerning the services for luggage delivery, bathrooms, and breakfast. We do apologize for the response you received regarding the questions you had about your luggage. Each of your comments has been shared with the departments for further discussion with the appropriate staff.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Beautiful property. 2thumbs up. We stayed here for 4 days and it was an amazing experience. The staff was very polite and courteous. Only complaint I have was our room was by the elevator so we can hear it all night but it was our honeymoon so we was making our own noise. The scenery from the balcony was out of this world. I highly recommend this resort

Room Tip: Ocean or Waikiki view is a good choice. We had a bit of both
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BudDee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for sharing this special occasion with us. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and were very impressed with everything they have to offer. Our room was really good, the facilities outstanding, location perfect and the staff are very courteous, helpful and welcoming. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the opening hours are suitable for early morning travellers. Should we be fortunate enough to return to Hawaii we would definitely consider staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Request ocean view room and or Diamond Head view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for the review and kind remarks. We are glad to read that you had such a great experience while visiting us and we look forward to hopefully serving you again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

good spot service at front desk
just ok normally as a platinum member a little more of a fuss is made at other Hyatt nothing big just didn't feel
as special although did get upgrade to deluxe ocean view which was a bonus

drinks by the pool great happy hour 4-7 nice drink room
very nice

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank BRT K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for the feedback from your recent visit. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. We do regret that you did not receive the service you expect as a GP member and we will share your comments with our team for further discussion and review. We do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
279 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,500 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $257 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all the excitement of Waikiki from one incredible location. Steps from the azure blue waters and soft sands of Waikiki Beach, Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa offers magnificent personalized services and luxurious amenities including world-class dining, award-winning spa, interactive cultural activities, 24-hour fitness center, swimming pool overlooking the Pacific Ocean, and more than 60 on-site boutiques. The resort provides the perfect place for those who want to make the most of their island experience and connect with the heart of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing