We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Centrally located”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

General:
This hotel is located centrally on Waikiki Strip. The public beach is across the street and towels are available at the hotel pool. Restaurants and convenience stores(ABC) all around. Bus network is extensive but didn't get a chance to use them. Budget and Hertz has office in the hotel and their cars are in the basement garage. Make sure to reserve the car on the internet for best price and to avoid long lines at the counter. The rooms are a bit outdated but clean and nice. This hotel is mainly patronized by guests from Asia(Japan and Korea) and lots of them. Lot of shopping outlets 5-10 min walk from the hotel. For some reason, beachside street has inordinate amount of homeless people, no safety issue but they do emit unpleasant odor.

Details:
The room is typical dated hotel room. Clean and quiet but nothing to write home about. Small balcony with so so views. Medium size fridge in the room and two bottles of water is provided daily.

The pool area is clean and quiet, in fact all public area is quiet because of mainly Asian clientele.

I didn't try two restaurants in the hotel and opted to try local restaurants with some success.

Taxi ride to/from airport is about 30 mins and cost is $35 per trip with tip. Lower cost options are available.

I would have to say, for the price it wasn't worth it but it's Waikiki after all.

Room Tip: I think Diamond tower was more convenient to access than the Ewa tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wuon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for providing your feedback. We appreciate all of your compliments and criticisms and will be sure to share them with our team.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,251
    1,872
    690
    223
    152
See reviews for
1,669
2,056
197
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orroroo, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here in September. Very welcoming staff on our arrival. We were upgraded to a partial ocean view room, which was great. Beautiful views from our balcony on the 20th floor. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Best pillows I have ever slept on in any hotel! The included breakfast was very extensive and enjoyable. The Hyatt is within easy walking distance of great shopping and dining too.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianneD130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are happy to read that you had such an enjoyable visit. We will share your compliments with our team.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed her September 2013. We stayed for 5 nights after cruising the islands on the Pride of America.
Our suite was on the 19th floor of the Diamond Head Tower. The balcony overlooked Waikiki beach.
The beds, two twins, were extremely comfortable. We did book a king room, but was advised at reception if it was suitable, a twin was available on a higher floor. We were not fused so accepted the offer.
The suite was huge with a separate washbasin/dressing area next to the bathroom. Even though the bathroom was a tad out of date, it was clean and well appointed.
Breakfast was included in our stay and was thoroughly enjoyed each day. No waiting was experienced and we were seated quickly each morning. The food was enjoyable with good variety.
The hotel is well situated right across from Dukes Statue. Trolley bus stop right across the road was very convenient indeed.

Room Tip: Overlooking Waikiki Beach was great for sunset watching!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and your room. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have stayed at this resort and spa on my last trip to Oahu and it was great! The location is in the middle of all of the action! I would recommend anyone who is going to take a vacation to Oahu to look online for deals.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Max I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are happy to read that you had such a wonderful visit. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Service was incredible at this place, particularly for Hyatt Gold Passport members. The Regency Club staff was so nice and always willing to help. The facilities were great and everything from check-in to check-out was very easy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and all the services for our GP members. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Do not overrate (and over pay) for ocean views. Hyatt is hexagonal in shape and some of their ocean view roooms face DIRECT west. Great for the sunset but from about 4PM unbearably hot to the point of being forced to close the heavy curtians until the sun went down. What is the point of ocean views? Best aspect is south so you have to look right to see the sunset but you do not want to be facing the sunset directly. Stayed later on at the Hilton a few blocks back with mountain views unimpeded by any building from the 32nd floor. Great. Cool in the afternoon as the sun sets on the other side of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for your feedback. We regret that you felt your deluxe ocean view was spoiled by the heat from the sunlight hitting the lanai windows. We hope that for some of your visit you were able to enjoy some of the unobstructed ocean views.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hotel was very busy when I was checking in but the staff is very friendly and amazingly helpful.
The location of this hotel is amazing with ocean view rooms. Definitely try to get one on a higher floor as the view alone is worth the price of this hotel. While the hotel is somewhat updated, there are others that are much more modern but you'll definitely pay for them. For the price this place is great. As another reviewer said, definitely try to stay away from the rooms near the lifts as the lifts are a bit noisy and would bother most.

Room Tip: Higher floors have much better views, and try to stay away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 812Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and our property. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,253 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,860 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Oahu in one of Hawaii's most fashionable zip codes. Just steps from renowned warm waters and spectacular views of Waikiki Beach, the property features newly remodeled guest rooms, an award-winning spa, retail shopping, cultural activities and cuisine from celebrated chefs. Close to Honolulu's most visited attractions, including the USS Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor, Iolani Palace and Diamond Head Crater, the hotel is the ideal solution for those who want it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing