We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location fab hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great location fab hotel”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

A really good hotel, almost on the beach. Location could hardly be better. Less than a minute's walk to the beach and main shopping district. The views are great. Staff are friendly and the communal areas of the hotel are clean and attractive. Plenty of amenities. Three abc shops in the hotel itself. The breakfast is buffet style and hot or cold. Nice cooked items such as bacon, hash browns etc and beautiful fresh fruit. Never had such gorgeous pineapple ! Rooms are large and comfortable. TV channels are aplenty. Nice large balconies. The pool and lounging area is lovely. Can't fault it except to say the resort fee is a disappointment. The hotel is pretty expensive and it seems a shame to add to it with this semi hidden charge. The only aspect of the resort fee I benefited from was the free wifi. Beautifully clean hotel and I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliceW33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and will share all of your compliments with our staff. We regret you did not find the amenities included in the resort fee to be of more value. To note, the fee includes the daily water, beach chairs and towels, cultural activities, international calls and wi-fi. We will make certain your comments are shared with our team.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,278
    1,886
    694
    224
    153
See reviews for
1,687
2,077
199
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Majuro, Marshall Islands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Every time my family flies through Honolulu, we stay at this hotel. This year alone we have stayed their three times. My last trip was by far the best for me, despite the reason. I flew to Hawaii to have surgery on my ankle. The staff could not have been nicer! They escorted me by wheelchair anywhere that I needed to go in the hotel. Maid service left several extra pillows, blankets and sheet to help me feel as comfortable as possible one of the ladies from room service sent up a large basket of fresh whole fruit, at no charge! The other plus for me was having a room that had a balcony that I could smoke on that way I did have to travel all the way down to street level to smoke. This hotel is one of the very few where you can get this option. You must be in and be eligible for one of the higher room floors that have one of these select balconies. I have been to Honolulu 10+ times and this is by far the best location for everything that you want to do in Waikiki.

Room Tip: The best rooms are in the Ewa Tower.
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotels environmentally-friendly practices are pretty standard with all Hawaii hotels.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imakwajgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review and continued visits. We are thankful for all the kind compliments and have shared your post with our associates. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Wow!.. What can I say... We booked 2 interconnecting ocean front rooms in the EWA tower. Before our arrival we were contacted by James the VIP Manager via email regarding our requests. Although we really had non other than a high floor, this gentlemen a went out of his way to greet us on arrival, ensure we were happy with everything, arranged soft drinks for our children and generally was a happy person ensuring our holiday requirements were met. He helped us with web check in procedures for Hawaiian Airlines and provided our paperwork at reception. Our view was amazing, hotel was clean and we had everything we needed. Thank you James. We will be back!

Room Tip: We and 2 ocean front deluxe rooms and paid for guaranteed interconnecting rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hollydolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have stayed in many hotels and this is one of the best. The room was spotless every day, the beds were comfortable and the view amazing. Pay the little extra for a partial ocean room view and get around the mid height. There are 40 floors in 2 towers we were on the 28th floor which was perfect for watching the Hilton fireworks display on Saturday and still able to easily see the world go by beneath us and the sunset out front. The desk staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet, which included an omelette bar, also very comprehensive. The location is very central to most of the Waikiki Beach shops and eating places. For a really good burger and

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Den2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are pleased to read that you had such a wonderful visit. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

my husband and I spent a week at this hotel and had a wonderful time. The hotel overlooks the beach and pacific ocean and is quite simply, idyllic. This hotel goes 'the extra mile' to ensure you have a lovely time and I thought it was one of the best hotels I have ever had the pleasure to visit. The staff were very attentive and pleasant. The room was spacious and immaculate, providing for your every need (check out the 'Complimentary' list on your dressing table-the list was endless!). A refridgerator and safe are also provided. We were given 50% discount on resort fee (£12.50 per day instead of £25.00) and 50% discount on breakfast, however we did not visit for breakfast, preferring to eat out and about. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If 'sea view' room is unavailable, dont be too dissapointed...the mountain view is specta...
See more room tips
Green Features: Similar to a lot of hotels who request that a towel only be changed if left on the floor.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanettemahon499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for posting your feedback. We are happy to read that you had such a great experience while staying with us. We will share your comments with our team. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I and my daughter Sherri were recent guests (aUG 31-sEPT 6,2013). We were very impressed with the Location, Location,Location ( Across from Waikiki Beach!)the excellent staff ( Front Desk,Housekeeping,Bell Desk..SHOR restaurant staff and food..all amazing. Especially "Aka" in the Hawaiian Cultural Center , who shared his love of Hawaiian Culture,language,music and Dance.... Aka..."No ka oi".(He is the best).

Room Tip: Check for Construction details!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you had such a wonderful experience with us. Your compliments to all the staff, especially Aka, have been shared. We hope you will visit again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Went to pool most days around 7.30am or before to collect boogie boards for the beach. Each day I was told they didn't have any, as some were broken and had been thrown out, and people who had signed for them had not returned them. I thought it was on a first come basis, yet again today no boards.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank suzyreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry that you were unable to get boogie boards upon request. We have shared your comments with the supervisor to review the issue further and investigate adding more boards to the inventory.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,307 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Oahu in one of Hawaii's most fashionable zip codes. Just steps from renowned warm waters and spectacular views of Waikiki Beach, the property features newly remodeled guest rooms, an award-winning spa, retail shopping, cultural activities and cuisine from celebrated chefs. Close to Honolulu's most visited attractions, including the USS Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor, Iolani Palace and Diamond Head Crater, the hotel is the ideal solution for those who want it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing