We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pool too small” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brisbane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pool too small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Have just returned from 10 days at the Hyatt. We had a partial ocean view and the room was big bed comfortable and cleaned spotlessly daily but room did need an update. Breakfast was good and staff were always friendly. Reception staff were also friendly and in particular Sonya was always helpful. My big downfall of this hotel was the size of the pool, way too small for the amount of guests.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brisijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We are pleased that you enjoyed most of your stay. We will certainly share your kind comments regarding service to our team, especially Sonya. We do regret that you were not pleased with the pool size and will share that with our management team as well.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,952
    1,741
    645
    206
    139
See reviews for
1,470
1,860
168
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,046)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We knew Waikiki was not our kind of place but chose to stay here a few days of our vacation due to its proximity to things we wanted to see. Were torn between Hyatt Place and Regency but chose the Regency as it was across the street from the beach, gave you free beach chairs etc and we knew it would have good service. Our activities included a half day Roberts tour of Pearl Harbor ( Really difficult to get your own tickets these days), a TwoGoods kayak tour to the Mokes(Great trip), and a self guided ( Thanks to concierge Mike) hiking tour of Diamond head, Maunawilli Falls, Manoa , etc Roberts and Two Goods pick you up at the Hyatt which was very convenient as driving in Honolulu is not easy. The rooms in our Diamond wing floor 30 were not that great. Very little drawer space, had to live out of our suitcase, and not at all tropical.
We were also placed near a very loud, busy, and quite slow elevator. If you stay here please request to be away from elevator and in an updated room. I've been told there are some.
There is self parking which we appreciated. $30 a day. The location is good to walk to many restaurants. I recommend going west towards Hilton as not many blocks away to the east there are homeless people in the beach pavilions. Best to stay by beach so I wouldn't recommend the Hyatt Place. Shor and Swim restaurants were excellent at the Hyatt. Breakfast starts at 5AM, a plus for those of us with tours. You could have ala carte or buffet. We also appreciated the free boarding pass service and scales to weigh luggage. Again this is a good place to stay if you want to be in Waikiki.

Room Tip: away from elevator updated
See more room tips
Green Features: have recycle trash cans Don't know anything else
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bike2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your visit and we will certainly share your comments, especially with Mark. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great location in the heart of Waikiki but that's all. Stayed here for 5 nights with family. When you enter the hotel looks more like a mini shopping centre…..didn’t feel as if we were staying in a hotel. Check-in was efficient and very to the point, not overly hospitable.

Our room and bathroom looked dated and was really in need of updating , also was smaller than I expected.

The pool was very basic and overlooks Waikiki beach which you’ll need to cross the very busy Kalakaua Avenue to get to the beach.

Buffet breakfast at the Shor restaurant was just ok and staff was friendly

Overall I wasn't that impressed, I expected the Hyatt to be much better, would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyChick7302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We do regret that your stay was not satisfactory and we have shared your remarks with our team. While we cannot change some features, such as the location of the hotel, we are able to address other comments, the most important being service. Your review will be read and discussed closely by management.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Although our rooms weren't ready and we had three VERY tired children who just wanted to have a shower after a 10 hour flight and we werent checked in properly, we werent told about any of the services available to us at all so didnt realise we were entiiled to alot of discounts as gold card members( the girl on the desk was new and just learning and made quite a few mistakes) we were prepared for a battle but were pleasantly suprised when we arrived back at 3pm to find our rooms interconnecting which we requested, large, clean and totally spotless. The queues for breakfast were long but moved fast, the service for towels and beach chairs was excellent and needs to be promoted more and would be another reason I come back to this hotel, very handy service. I loved it here, yes the rooms are a little dated but are very clean well stocked large and have heaps of space for shopping. The hotel staff were all amazing and after dealing with security on one occassion we are extremely grateful for their diligence in such a delicate situation. We will be staying here again. Thank you Mahalo!

Room Tip: We were on the 30th floor away from the elevators and had NO NOISE and slept very well
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for this insightful review. We are glad that you had an enjoyable visit and your comments have been shared with all of our staff. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was my fourth time staying in this hotel and it has been upgraded since my first stay in 2010. The rooms still retain their "tropical" feel, but are modern. The bathrooms could use an update, but are modern and have nice appointments and island decor. The rooms are huge and rooms have balconies. Rooms with a view are a plus as this hotel is right on Waikiki. The breakfast is excellent out on the patio with views of the ocean and the staff always greeted you by name once you had been once. The check in staff was also top notch and made you feel special. The pool area has been remodeled and has towels available for the beach should you wish to cross the street to the ocean. Although the hotel is a little older, it has been updated and is a great choice for Waikiki.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for all the kind remarks. We have shared your comments with all of our staff. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We checked in to the Hyatt Regency on the 24th July 2013 for a period of 11 days with my 3 teenage children and spouse. We had booked 2 partial ocean view rooms and were delighted upon check in to be upgraded to 2 full ocean view rooms on the 25th floor, away from the elevators and in a corner suite. The view of the ocean and Wakiki was breathtaking. It was the perfect location, directly across the road from the beach and in the heart of the main strip.
However, the rooms are outdated and can do with a renovation.
The staff and service were outstanding and welcoming. Their warmth and kindness will always be treasured.
There was only the one pool in the resort which was small and always crowded, making it had to get a chair to lay down on.
The Japanese restaurant, Japengo was outstanding and a must for everyone to try we rated it 10/10. Coming from Australia the selection for buffet breakfast was a let down as there wasn't enough choice for healthy items. For instance they didn't offer cooked mushrooms, cooked tomatoes or gluten free sausages and the bacon looked very greasy. It would have also been nice to see freshly squeezed juice being offered.
All in all we had a wonderful time, we loved your warmth,service, culture and country and we thank you for making us feel at home. Hawaii and its people are heaven on earth.

Room Tip: ask for a corner suite away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rima t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are pleased that overall you had an enjoyable visit at our property. We do regret that the buffet was not as you expected. We have shared these comments as well as the ones regarding your love of Japengo with our Food and Beverage director. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lookout Mountain, GA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

So my flight was delayed from LAX to HNL and what was suppose to be about an hour wait for my husband who was flying from ATL to HNL to meet me was about 6 hours. I called him from LAX and told him to go ahead to the hotel and check in and I would just follow later in a cab. This turned out to be a very long wait for him in the hotel lobby. Hyatt in the spirit of safely would not let him check in due to not being listed on the reservation. If I had realized this (I was told later) I could have called ahead and had him placed on the reservation. They told him when he attempted to check in that even if he had been on the reservation he would not have been allowed to check in. Conflicting info here. Now bear in mind we had stayed at this hotel last year but that didn't matter. I am glad for the Hyatt being safety conscious, but when I arrived around 8pm I saw my husband asleep on one of the hard wooden benched in the lobby. I felt so bad for him. After I successfully checked in we got to our room only to have a very noisy neighbor beside us. We were both pretty exhausted (especially my husband) so sleep came easily. We didn't eat here but being a Hyatt member were given a coupon for free pupu's at the Japengo restaurant. Easy taxi drop off and pick up under a covered drive and the conference center where I conducted a seminar is directly across the street and very convenient. The bed was comfy. It's still very hard to hear the reception staff due to the loud waterfall. Poor architectural planning. We stayed 2 nights when left for Maui!

Room Tip: an ocean view may mean a sliver of ocean and more street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speaker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for providing this detailed review. While we do not compromise guest safety as you have noted we did share your comments with both the front desk supervisor and the catering staff. We regret there seems to have been confusion in the information you were given regarding the check-in policy. We do apologize for that misunderstanding and for noise you experienced once in your room.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,899 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Waikiki
Sheraton Waikiki
Sheraton Waikiki
#32 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Oahu in one of Hawaii's most fashionable zip codes. Just steps from renowned warm waters and spectacular views of Waikiki Beach, the property features newly remodeled guest rooms, an award-winning spa, retail shopping, cultural activities and cuisine from celebrated chefs. Close to Honolulu's most visited attractions, including the USS Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor, Iolani Palace and Diamond Head Crater, the hotel is the ideal solution for those who want it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing