We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were up graded to an Ocean View room as soon as we checked in, the Hyatt is in a great location across the road from the beach and just a stroll to shops and cafes. We had a great holiday and if I went back I would not stay anywhere else. Our view was great and our room was cleaned every day and they really looked after us and were very friendly.

Room Tip: Ocean view room has a great view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,797
    1,638
    627
    199
    135
See reviews for
1,366
1,747
152
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,006)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langwarrin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We planned this trip to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.
We have always found the Hyatt Waikiki to be the most wonderful location to stay.
To our disappointment we incurred renovations for the entire stay which included the pool being inaccessible for our first day. I feel if you are paying to stay at a 4.5 rated hotel you should be advised that you will incur renovations. Our first room had the balcony locked for no access and huge cables hanging down obstructing our view of the beach. Fortunately we were moved to a partial ocean view room after much negotiation by my husband. We are also Hyatt Gold Passport members. On our visit to Waikiki we will find accomodation at a new resort.

Room Tip: Partial ocean in the Ewa tower is excellent as you have a beach and street view. Of an eveving it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerrie231260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We regret that your visit was not what you had expected. There is some facade work being done on property however the pool is not included in any work. It was most likely undergoing a routine cleaning when you arrived and we regret that you were unable to use it until the following day. We have shared your comments regarding the difficulty of moving rooms with our Front Desk Manager. We do value all of our guest feedback and will review your post closely.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was by far the best service hotel I have used. I stay at dozens of hotels every year, and this one far exceeded my expectations. Everyone from the valet to the pool guy was friendly and went out of their way for service. We even enjoyed the Expedia desk guy who gave us very good advice and never tried to sell us on anything. We didn't have a flight out until 10 pm that night, so they let us use a room to shower and clean up well after our check out time. They never tried to nickle and dime us for anything. Don't be cheap and just grab any room. Get a room with ocean view and maybe splurge for the regency club. We were able to watch fireworks on a Friday night from our balcony. The beach is across the street and there is plenty of shopping and eating within walking distance. The bathroom is a little dated but very very clean. Bed was comfortable and we were able to open the balcony door and rest to the sounds of the ocean.

Room Tip: Grab at ocean view room. We stayed on the 35th floor. Amazing! Try to get away from the elevators, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the great review. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We enjoyed staying at this hotel. Our room was enormous and very clean. Service was good and breakfast was fine. The nice thing was being able to have your eggs/ omelette cooked in front of you. The best part of breakfast was the setting. - a lovely outdoor area ,overlooking Waikiki beach. The tour desk was very helpful and the location of this hotel was fabulous. If you have small children, I guess it would be better to be on the beach side but for us it didn't matter. You can hire beach chairs free of charge from pool area and walk across the road to the beach. The lunch by the pool was great and this hotel was good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michellew28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed many of our services and we will certainly send your praise for the omelet station to our SHOR team.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

From our first contact at check in we had nothing but friendly, prompt and professional service from all the staff we dealt with. We were upgraded to a deluxe ocean view room on the 34th floor (great viewing spot for the fireworks display) and as others have said, the bathroom was a bit dated but it was spotlessly clean and the bedroom was huge. At 10.30 on a Saturday night the toilet started overflowing - the maintenance man appeared within 15 minutes to fix it - great service. Lots of choices at breakfast and we never had to queue more than 5 minutes for a table though we tended to be there after 10am. We had one breakfast at 6am and it was far busier then than later in the morning. When we booked there was a special rate of $18 for the resort fee rather than $25, and the check in staff said we could reduce it by 30% if we signed up to the Hyatt Passport - so we did. Our only quibble is about signage - the porter was nowhere to be seen when we arrived and we wandered about getting increasingly frustrated trying to find the lift to get to reception with our suitcases. We looked for it during our week there but never found it. If you can get a deal like we did, the Hyatt is a good choice.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weltaltburger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We regret that your arrival was spent looking for check-in. We will share your comments with our team for further discussion. We have added new signage to the main arrival area however your review will help in assessing the guest experience. We are pleased that the rest of your stay you had many pleasant experiences. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

When we first got there our travel agent failed to tell us would have to pay 25$ per night we stayed plus a 50$ deposit for each night you stayed just in case u wrecked the place. Which according to the reception staff was compulsory.. Even if we didn't use the stuff that was offered. Considering we had already been there for 2 weeks and out off money thankfully the lady waived the 25$ fee and we only had to pay 50$ and she gave us a room upgrade that made our day! It's good to see good staff that can turn a tourists horrible day into a good one! Thank you! I still think you should revise the 25$ fee tho.. Seems ridiculous :) had a wonderful 3 nights at the Hyatt none the less.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah8923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your stay. We regret there was any confusion upon check-in however we are also glad to read that the attendant who served you was able to make amends. Your comments have been forwarded to our Front Desk Manager for further review and discussion with the team.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We arrived to the Hyatt at about midnight... only to be told that the ocean view hotel room we had paid for, was given to somebody else, and too bad for us, we had to have a city view room. We got our partial ocean view room about 3 nights after we arrived, we had the pleasure and inconvenience of changing rooms to our paid for ocean view room (which we ended up having for only the two of five nights that we had paid for). We got given a free entry pass to the Regency Club, which kind of made up for the wrong room money wise, as we got to eat there for breakfast and dinner every day. I don't think I will go back there to stay again though.

Room Tip: double check your booking before you go, just in case they decide to double book your room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahteare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We regret that your stay with us was not a better experience. We have forwarded your post to our Front Desk Supervisor for further review and discussion. We value your compliments and criticisms and will use both to improve our services.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 3,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,312 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, HI, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Oahu in one of Hawaii's most fashionable zip codes. Just steps from renowned warm waters and spectacular views of Waikiki Beach, the property features newly remodeled guest rooms, an award-winning spa, retail shopping, cultural activities and cuisine from celebrated chefs. Close to Honolulu's most visited attractions, including the USS Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor, Iolani Palace and Diamond Head Crater, the hotel is the ideal solution for those who want it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing