We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Solid”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is what ever resort / destination Hyatt should be. Friendly, relaxed, not stuffy but professional in every way. When you first get there, the doorman is friendly, the bellman are on top of things and right after check in off to the room. Its right across from the beach, the pool side is great, the food is delicious.

the bad:
the front desk area can get stuffy and there is no way to determine where the elites can go to check in.
resort fee just went up in price. it includes 1 hour of long distance phone but.. with skype, cell phones.. really? oh.. and two bottles of water. the resort fee is like 25 bucks now.

thats really it. if you are price sensitive, then you might want to go check out the outrigger hotels since those are across the beach too. But otherwise, this is a good solid place to hang out and enjoy time. more fun with the family of course.

oh.. the spa? can do better. there are a few right in walking distance.. like the Halekulani and Westin Moana both have spa services. go there. cheaper and better!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasuo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the reviews. We are glad that you have enjoyed our services and amenities. We will be sure to share your comments regarding the resort fee and spa with management. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,251
    1,872
    690
    223
    152
See reviews for
1,669
2,056
197
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and i recently stayed at Hyatt Regency Waikiki as part of our honeymoon. We found the hotel to be a great place to stay. fantastic location across the road from Waikiki beach, Staff were very courtesy, professional and helpful, food was fantastic, room was fairly basic but very clean and comfortable. All our requests were met including some nice bonuses included for our honeymoon as well. We would definitely stay there again as well.
Our holiday was booked through My Holiday Centre (My Hawaii) who did a great job. All our flights , transfers, accomodation and tours were organised with My Hawaii and we had not 1 single problem. The holiday package was also great value for money. This is the second time we have booked a holiday with My Holiday Centre (1st time to Fiji) which was also amazing and great vaue. We will definitely book another holiday with these guys again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had such an enjoyable visit. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

they were very helpful and everything was neat and tidy. The people are very friendly and the beaches were unbelievable.The Hotel had a very good view of the beach and watching the surfers first thing in the morning around 6am is mad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pommpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha,

We thank you for the feedback. We are glad you had such a great visit. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Square
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel important. We knew our rooms would not be available until later in the day, so as we arrived we were pleasantly surprised that when we arrived at the hotel they were taken by the Bell Hop and we were provided with our lodgement numbers before heading to the lobby. When we booked in the helpful staff provided us with an upgrade so that we could settle in quickly and they organised for our bags to be delivered into our rooms. The room was very clean, airy and the view from our room was stunning, the gentleman that delivered our bags was full of local information and we immediately felt at home. Each day our room was attended to and the ladies that looked after our room were very courteous and professional. There was just so much to choose from at the breakfast buffet that we enjoyed a different selection each day. The staff ensured we had plenty of coffee and tea to drink. The beach was just across the road, the trolley stop very convenient and the staff on the tour desk were quite helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HowardGoldenSquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We have shared all of your kind remarks with our staff. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A perfect location, extremely friendly staff and beautiful surroundings made the Hyatt Regency Waikiki the best place to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Through the expertise of MyHawaii and the magic of Hawaiian AIrlines our holiday included scrumptious breakfasts at the hyatt watching the sunrise, well arranged tours and a bonus catamaran dinner cruise which was a great night out to celebrate! The hyatt also gave us a bottle of champagne on our arrival which was a wonderful start to the holiday! This was a very well arranged holiday through the professionalism of MyHawaii and I hope to be able to book another holiday through them one day as long as I don't have to wait another 30 years to go overseas again!Mahalo Hyatt Regency and MyHawaii!

Room Tip: Our city view room had a great balcony and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luxuryescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha,

We thank you for the review and for sharing your special celebration with us. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The location of this hotel in central Waikiki is fantastic - opposite the beach close to everything you could want. It is a very large hotel with clean, large and bright rooms. This is my third trip to Waikiki and i have stayed in three different hotels. However, while there is nothing wrong on a large scale with this hotel, it is my least favourite. The queue to check in was long and took a long time, you have to wait for the lifts all the time, i had to wait a long time for help from the tour desk and while the staff were extremely courteous and helpful, the waiting for everything became an issue. You couldn't do anything quickly! Noise from slamming doors was also an issue - i seemed to have a family next to me that slammed their door continually - they are heavy doors and make a din every time they close. The question I ask myself is whether I would stay here again - may be?????? Hard to answer. The rates were very reasonable, so this might sway me in the future. Waikiki is one of my favourite spots, so I will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nel-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the comments. We regret that you were disappointed in some of the services you received on your recent visit. The lines you experienced are unfortunate and we will share them with our team for additional review and discussion. We are glad that you like Waikiki and we hope that you will consider us again on your next visit.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our much awaited first trip to Hawaii was only possible with the excellent deal provided by My Holiday company. No other travel agent could match their deal. Therefore we were not expecting the incredibly high standards of accommodation and included tours and shows. Our room was large and overlooked Waikiki Beach. What a first sight to start each day with. It would not have been as enjoyable if we had stayed in one of the many hotels back from the beach.The included breakfast allowed many choices and great service from staff ensured nobody went hungry. The personal omelettes cooked to your choice was a highlite each morning. Room service provided a great pizza one night, quick and cheap. But nothing could match the steak and lobster dinner at the Magic of Polynesia show which was in our package. Best meal in years. A few minor frustrations with airport transfers but easily forgotten with the overall high quality of package provded by My Holiday Centre. Will definitely book another holday in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wayne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,253 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,860 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Oahu in one of Hawaii's most fashionable zip codes. Just steps from renowned warm waters and spectacular views of Waikiki Beach, the property features newly remodeled guest rooms, an award-winning spa, retail shopping, cultural activities and cuisine from celebrated chefs. Close to Honolulu's most visited attractions, including the USS Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor, Iolani Palace and Diamond Head Crater, the hotel is the ideal solution for those who want it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing